Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: how to host our site on our computers?

  1. #1
    What if we want to host a website on our own computers instead of geociteis.com or other free hosting sites. ? what about domain registeration concepts?
    Crazy about filesharing

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    The most popular web server program to use (i use it, and this website uses it) is called apache. (http://www.apache.org/)
    After installing this web server you will need to open port 80 if you have a router or firewall, then browse to the apache folder and find the configuariton file which is called 'httpd.conf' in the 'conf' folder. Edit the settings in this file to setup your server.

    To test that the server works type localhost into your broswer and you will get a welcome to apache webpage.
    To start hosting your pages first of all you should (it's optional, but I like to do this to keep everyhting organized) create a folder for all webpages (example c:\sites\) then set that as your webpage folder in the httpd.conf file.
    You can then start putting files into the folder and they will be viewable from either 'localhost/file.extension' or 'youripadress/file.extension'.

    To set the default index file (the file that would run if you don't specify a file [for example, if you type https://filesharingtalk.com it runs the file called 'index.php']) go into the httpd.conf file and edit the line that says 'DirectoryIndex index.html index.html.var index.php' (or something along those lines, it will always start with 'DirectoryIndex').

    To setup your web server to use PHP pages you will need to download PHP (http://php.net) and install it to your computer, then add this to httpd.conf right at the bottom:
    ######## PHP!
    LoadModule php5_module C:/www/php/php5apache2.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

    MySQL is another program you will need to install and configure to work with your web server.

    It gets kind of difficult to get going at times to setup a web server but if you search google there are plenty of guides available for you, and once you get it working you can just save all of your configuration files for if you ever need to reinstall.
    Last edited by tesco; 09-28-2005 at 09:36 PM.

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    I run my own website and active directory server and IIS from my own computers (3 of them). I dont use apache tho, I use IIS in windows server 2003 enterprise. Apache is good for those not running server class operating systems. It sounds as tho apache would be good for you, as the above post stated. (I dont suspect that you are running server 2003 or its variants). You would, however, need a domain name, unless you want your website to be ht#p://(insert your IP here). For this, you will need to pay for domain registration and redirection. I use networksolutions.com.
    and also, you will want to run the website on a different computer than the one you use daily (its not a rule, just a generally good practice NOT to surf the web on your webserver). but then again, I do things a little differently than you will be (unless you have 3 pentium 4 computers that arent doing anything else ) As the above post mentioned about PHP, I would recommend manually installing it rather than using any installer they provide. It is really easy to do, so dont be scared off by it...its simple. I also use MySQL, and it is also simple, just read a little bit on the subject, and you wont have any problems. If it is as simple as hosting your own html website, then just turn on IIS in windows, and get a domain name that points to your IP address, open port 80, and enjoy. good luck.
    Last edited by McrslV; 09-11-2005 at 02:13 AM.

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    zirjacks's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Age
    42
    Posts
    78
    here is a site that I used to get our site up and running, it has lots of information about the whole process clicky

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    I leafed through the link given in the above post, and it seems to be a pretty excellent guide. Since I already know most of what is in that guide, I cant be bothered to read it all, but it seems very thorough.
    Last edited by McrslV; 09-11-2005 at 06:14 PM.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    IIS 5.1 can handle web, FTP, and email services nicely. The only drawback is that you are limited to 10 concurrent connections to your website which shouldn't be a problem for most people.
    Is it the same in server 2003 as well?

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    IIS can handle MANY connections. I dont know in what they are speaking of. They are Possibly speaking of XP or XP pro, with the SP2 tcp limits, but certainly not server 2003 or any variant. also, IIS 6.0 is what is in server 2003. 5.1 is in XP (I think)
    Last edited by McrslV; 09-11-2005 at 06:46 PM.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    tralalala's Avatar The Almighty
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    6,396
    ya it must be the TCP SP2 limits, as there was a similar problem using eMule for instance - XP limited eMule to 10 connections, a thing that screwed download speeds.. but there is a patch around that fixes it

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    sparsely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    static hum
    Posts
    3,538
    Quote Originally Posted by McrslV
    Apache is good for those not running server class operating systems...
    you mean Microsoft Server operating systems?

    this post is guaranteed 100% parrot-free

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    Quote Originally Posted by sparsely
    Quote Originally Posted by McrslV
    Apache is good for those not running server class operating systems...
    you mean Microsoft Server operating systems?
    yea. I have been looking at motherboards for my servers, so I got stuck on server class this, server class that But yes, microsoft server os is great. i never played with apache, as microsoft doesnt need new things added and be compiled all the time, and i think that this person isnt running any linux os, so IIS would be the way to go.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •