Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Please Help - Microsoft XP

  1. #1

    Urgent

    i have recently moved house and have just reset-up my computer,

    i clicked on my quicklink to task manager and it says that task manager has been disabled by the administrator, so i pressed ctrl+alt+del and again it told me that the task manager has be disabled by an administrator, as i only have one account on my pc and i am the administrator is there away in which i can undisable it?

    please help

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Santa's Avatar dvhyt5er
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    1
    Posts
    2,128
    i suspect you know the administrator password
    reboot into safe mode
    go into user accounts and make sure your present account has administrative rights

    there is a faster way to get into administrator account - i forgot it sorry

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Going into "safemode" brings up the administrator account by default. And unless you think about doing it before hand, they are not always password protected. There is also a registry tweak that will place the admin account directly on your logon screen for access all the time. Here is a direct link to the tweak. Source: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp.htm

    enable admin account on welcome screen
    Last edited by Izagaia; 09-24-2005 at 04:26 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by 100%
    there is a faster way to get into administrator account - i forgot it sorry
    At the welcome screen, as lng as you're not logged in, you can press alt-ctrl-del twice to bring up the regular login screen where u can type in administrator and the password to get into that account.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Santa's Avatar dvhyt5er
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    1
    Posts
    2,128
    ah yes good ol three finger

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    thanks guys, tryed all of that but couldnt get it to work, dunno what to do, oh well thanks anyways ppl

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    i have encountered a few viruses that block you from using taskman, regedit and a few other apps. i would use an up to date virus scanner and run a full system scan.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    cheers pal, got a virus scanner, it found a trojan and a virus, now i got rid of em anyy ideas how to get me task manager back?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    ok, still not working and i now know that i have no virus that is stopping it, i have been told that a virus could have disabled it and now that i have cleared the virus i have to re-enable it, can any one tell me how to re-enable it?

    ty

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Last edited by peat moss; 10-11-2005 at 01:08 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •