Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Borland C++

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Ugh. I have been trying to get both Borland C++6 and Borland C++5 to work on my computer, but they do not! My school uses Borland 5 standard, so I recieved Borland C++6 Enterprise Edition, installed, but when I wrote a simple program like "Hello World", and hit the "Run" button, nothing happened.... I then tried Borland C++ Professional, and the same thing happened! Can anyone help me? I just want to be able to program at home!

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    86
    you probably need to add directories to your path, read the tutorial if they have one, never used it myself but have encountered many errors such as yours and is usually path related...

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    for college all you need is the free command line compiler (8.7mb). http://www.borland.com/downloads/download_cbuilder.html

    then follow http://community.borland.com/article...,21205,00.html

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by gsky
    you probably need to add directories to your path, read the tutorial if they have one, never used it myself but have encountered many errors such as yours and is usually path related...
    Directories to my path?

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    3. Using the mouse, right-click on the "My Computer" icon (on your desktop) and choose "Properties".
    4. Click on the "Advanced" tab.
    5. Click on the "Environment Variables..." button.
    6. Highlight the "Path" System variable (bottom).
    7. Click on the "Edit..." button.
    8. Append the line with ";C:\BORLAND\BCC55\BIN;"
    9. Click OK (in the "Edit System Variables")
    10. Click OK (in the "Environment Variables" window) and click OK (in the "System Properties" window) Navigating to the directory, "c:\Borland\bcc55\bin"
    11. cd borland [Enter]
    12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
    13. cd bin [Enter]


    make sure c:\borland\bcc55\bin is replaced with where ever the bcc file is in your install.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    I am sorry, I dont really understand what to do after I click ok out of the system properties?

    There is a BIN folder at C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5

    8. Append the line with ";C:\BORLAND\BCC55\BIN;"
    Do I need the semi colons there? And what does "Append" mean?
    Last edited by orcutt989; 10-03-2005 at 10:59 PM.

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    append means add to the end of and it should read

    ;C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5; if that is where the exe for your borland compiler sits.

    what you are doing is telling the command line when someone types in a command and you dont recognise it look in this directory to see if it is there. when your compiler executes "bcc32 project.cpp" it will now find the exe bcc32 in that directory and let it run.

    oh yeah you need to restart the pc for it to work.

    edit : shit that is meant to say ;C:\Program Files\Borland\CBuilder5\bin;

    the extra bin is where the binary files are stored which is what you want.
    Last edited by 4play; 10-03-2005 at 11:28 PM.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    11. cd borland [Enter]
    12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
    13. cd bin [Enter]
    What is that?

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    11. cd borland [Enter]
    12. cd bcc55 [Enter]
    13. cd bin [Enter]
    What is that?
    looks like it wants you t navigate to the bin directory in dos since to setup the free compiler you have to make a few config files. hopefully the full versions wont need you to.

    have you got it working ?

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989

    What is that?
    looks like it wants you t navigate to the bin directory in dos since to setup the free compiler you have to make a few config files. hopefully the full versions wont need you to.

    have you got it working ?
    No, I quoted what you said in the steps? What are those 3 things? I did everything you said, and made a hello world program, i am getting a linker error..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •