Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Choosing how to boot in XP...

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461

    Urgent

    When I start up my pc before it logs me on and after it shows ur pc info Xp asks me if want I want to boot into. This is exactly what it asks:

    1.) Windows Media Center 2005 (bootscreen)
    2.) Windows Media Center 2005

    Both of these options are the same too. They both go to the boot screen. How to I get rid of one of the options so it goes strait to the bootscreen? I think it has to do with style XP because it copied my bootscreen but idk what to do. I deleted Style XP with no luck. I prolly have to delete the duplicate but idk where its located.... Help me plz.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Its the boot ini you have to change google that and Bob's your uncle .



    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q289022/
    Last edited by peat moss; 10-05-2005 at 02:06 AM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I'm pretty sure stylexp has the option to boot straight in anyway...

    But, right click my computer->properties->advanced->start and recovery options->choose a default thing to boot and set timer to 0 seconds.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Awesome thx alot peat moss. I can't figure out how to delete the first os in command prompt tho.

    I don't understand this part:

    Removing an Operating System
    At the command prompt, type:
    bootcfg /delete /ID#
    Where # specifies the boot entry ID that you want to be deleted from the operating systems section of the BOOT.INI file (e.g. 2 for the second Operating system that is listed.

    EDIT: LOL wow I get it now. I should have read the fecking example.
    Last edited by silent h3ro; 10-05-2005 at 02:50 AM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Shit nvm I still don't get it. What am I doing wrong???


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Can I just cut out this section of the boot.ini to work properly?


  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Just make sure you delelte the right one , I get this problem sometimes when trying to resume a failed xp install .

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Ok I deleted the first one. This better fucking boot right... I'll restart when I'm done dling the BF2 patch.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    I'm pretty sure stylexp has the option to boot straight in anyway...

    But, right click my computer->properties->advanced->start and recovery options->choose a default thing to boot and set timer to 0 seconds.

    Ross , he deleted stylexp , but should be able to follow your advice to "delete" the second entry .


    And your right he should set time out to zero .
    Last edited by peat moss; 10-05-2005 at 03:21 AM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Ok well I already deleted the first option and set the time to 0 like rossco said and it worked! Thx for all the help, guys.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •