Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: wireless router

  1. #1
    looking into getting a wireless router and card for my laptop. any suggestions? d-link, linksys,??? wanting something with good signal lengths that i can use around the house. thanks in advance

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Linksys definately.

    Stay away from lower end D-Link's and nearly all Netgear's bar their most expensive models.

    I'm using a Linksys WAG54G and I believe it's gone down in price in the last few months.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    erRor67's Avatar Lord Of Everything
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    836
    LinkSys is good IMO. I have D-Link right now and it suits my needs..

    Dont know anything about Netgear other than the one I looked at yesterday was white and reminded me of an iPod
    blah blah blah... whatever...



  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Yep...definitely LinkSys...can't go wrong.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    The innards of base model Linksys and Dlink routers are manufactured by the same companies. The features are virtually the same(i.e. protocol and whatnot), but the ease-of-setup may differ.

    For everyday users, either will work just fine.

    Buy what's on sale if this applies to you.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    The D-Link gaming router is supposed to be amazing. I would reccommend checking that out if ur a gamer.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    I have a question about adding range. My wireless router is in the basement and I use my laptop 2 floors up. The signal is usually "low," "very low" or just "good." Somewhere b/w 1-3 bars. It seems wireless repeaters are more expensive than routers/access points. What would be the best way to get better signal and speed? Oh, it's 802.11b. Would g make a huge difference? I'd have to get a new PCMCIA card, too, so I'm sure it will add up.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by backlash
    I have a question about adding range. My wireless router is in the basement and I use my laptop 2 floors up. The signal is usually "low," "very low" or just "good." Somewhere b/w 1-3 bars. It seems wireless repeaters are more expensive than routers/access points. What would be the best way to get better signal and speed? Oh, it's 802.11b. Would g make a huge difference? I'd have to get a new PCMCIA card, too, so I'm sure it will add up.
    Can the router be moved to the main floor?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    802.11g won't give any improvement in signal, but of course 10% of 54Mb/s is still 5 times as fast as 10% of 11Mb/s, so it may improve your speed.

    If possible, make sure the signal path does not go past large pieces of electrical or electronic equipment, or large metal objects. So make sure it isn't directly under the fridge or the tv, for example.

    Also, try not to have the signal passing through too much of the building's infrastructure. The best way to ensure this is to put the router next to an outside wall, and if possible in a corner of 2 outside walls. That way, the line of the signal through any inside walls or floors is likely to be minimised.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Can the router be moved to the main floor?
    not without running the cat5 wire, which connects it to my other router, all the way to the main floor. Lynx, I actually think it IS right below the fridge. funny how that worked out *sigh*

    /me wonders what other solutions there are besides running cables through walls and ceilings

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •