Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Why is my PC acting so weird?

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    All the problems I'm going to list have just started in the past day or two:

    OK, the first thing I noticed happening was yesterday when WMP wouldn't work. When I try to open it, a window opens stating that 'An internal application error has occurred'.



    When I Googled the error message, I found this website:

    http://www.opentechsupport.net/forum...c/27451-1.html

    If you look at the site, it gives two suggestions to fix the problem. The first method involves re-registering two files. When I attempt to run them, they aren't even found by windows so I go on to method #2 which involves editing the registry. Neither of the two registry keys are located within regedit. I locate all of the folders until 'CLSID'. That folder doesn't even exist so I reall can't go any further.

    Another problem that's related to WMP is that if I click on a link to a website that has a video in WMP format, I can only hear the audio, and can't see any of the video.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Another problem I'm having is that I can't see any shout box dialog. The other people that I PM on the sites that have shout box's, say that they can see it just fine. I just see it a a blank box.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    Another problem is with links. Normally in Hotmail mail is opened by clicking on a link. I can't open any mail in Hotmail because none of the links work for me. I can however use links that are post on this board, but I cannot use the smilies on this board as well as the "tags" links such as [/img] or [/url]. If I want to utilize the tags or smilies, I have to type in the code manually.

    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I thought that maybe I could do a system restore to fix these problems, but system restore doesn't work. When I open it, it seems that its not responding: I've tried it several times with the same result.



    -----------------------------------------------------------

    I can't run Norton AV because the screen comes up blank with no 'Start scan' link. In fact, there is nothing in the entire box:



    -----------------------------------------------------------


    I'm posting this in hopes that someone will see a connection/pattern in these problems. Could it be a Java problem er something? I'm at a loss.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    It's the operater ! Hee Hee JK

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    bump
    Last edited by Skizo; 10-17-2005 at 12:12 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    sounds like a case of windooooooooooooooooze.
    Reinstall windows media player and norton.
    (sometimes norton takes 10-20 seconds to show that list on slow computers)

    Check if system restore is no disabled.
    Right Click My Computer>Properties. Goto the System Restore tab and make sure it's enabled.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Re-installed WMP, didn't work.
    Upgraded and installed WMP 10, didn't work.
    Re-installed NAV, didn't work.
    System restore is enabled.

    Last edited by Skizo; 10-17-2005 at 03:45 AM.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    All problems now fixed!

    I found a site which told me how to use a restore point without using the system restore utility. I restored back to Thursday, and everything seemed ok for a few minutes until I tried to watch Four Brothers, a movie I recently downloaded from BitComet.

    I then updated NAV> scanned the whole PC (3hrs. 14 mins.)> It found a virus which imo came from the Four Brothers movie.> uninstalled NAV, re-installed NAV > Restarted twice.

    Computer has been performing perfectly ever since. About four hours now.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    I found a site which told me how to use a restore point without using the system restore utility.
    How? Link please.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    I would not mind knowing that little trick myself.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    It was just locating the restore point w/o actually using the System Restore wizard. I didn't favorite the page or anything so I'm not sure what it was offhand. I'll look through my 'history' tomorrow when I get some time and see if I can locate it. In the meantime, Google maybe?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Don't tell us you fixed it & not tell us how. Skizo you know that's not right. And Googles not going to help us figure out what you did.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •