Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Microphone plug not working?

  1. #1
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Has my microphone plug stopped working?

    People can't hear me on Teamspeak so I tried recording something with Windows Sound Recorder, and that didn't work either.

    Is there anything else I can try in order to troubleshoot this?



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    Make sure you haven't got your microphone on "mute" in the sound settings.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Pfft, people always blame hardware.

    Maybe it's your mouth that's stopped working.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Yeah, it's not muted.
    The microphone itself is not muted
    It's plugged in.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    Is it plugged into the right hole?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Was it working previously with your current installation?

    What sound card or chip do you have?

    Install the correct drivers.
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 10-27-2005 at 12:58 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,631
    Twas a driver issue. I remembered that I updated my sound card driver last week in an attempt to fix the AOE3 sound problem. It must have been a bad driver. I got it off of DriverGuide.com which is usually pretty reliable. Found another one elsewhere, installed it and now everything works ok.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    maybe you have one of those setups that changes between out/mic/in to 5.1 in the control panel

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •