Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows won't start

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Using windows 2000 pro sp4, after i see the windows logo loading screen my computer goes into BSOD. It says that the driver "nbproxy.sys" couldn't load.
    Even if i try to boot in safe mode. What's wrong?

    should i just reinstall windows?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    you could try booting from a floppy disk in drive A: to a dos prompt to access nbproxy.sys and replace it i guess
    formatting might be easier if thats just the tip of the iceburg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    try downloading that file from the web and saving it to floppy. boot up in safe mode and replace it (making sure it's in the correct place).

    by the way i see no results for nbproxy.sys but i do for ndproxy.sys

    if you've misspelt this file, remember that when you're asking for help with certain files to ENSURE that they're correct or you'll be getting the wrong advice.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    ok now, its turned into "unknown hard error" and when i boot it says
    "memory test failed press f1 or del"

    bad ram?

    also it can't boot the cd, it just freezes

    took one stick of ram out, still get a memory test failed i don't even it see the win2k logo it just tells me that my bios is not acpi compliant

    you know the pc was fine this morning
    Last edited by Keikan; 11-12-2005 at 08:08 AM.
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    Gremlins

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    hmm ok since i have 2 512mb stick of ram, and i don't use the second stick i switchted the stick from slot 2 to slot 1 took out the slot 1 stick and voila, no more failed mem tests, sucessfull boot, no more BSOD bad ram? what should i do with it? can i fix it? take it back to the store?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    dodgy368's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    West Londinium
    Posts
    1,080
    Quote Originally Posted by Keikan
    hmm ok since i have 2 512mb stick of ram, and i don't use the second stick i switchted the stick from slot 2 to slot 1 took out the slot 1 stick and voila, no more failed mem tests, sucessfull boot, no more BSOD bad ram? what should i do with it? can i fix it? take it back to the store?
    If it's still under warrantee then take it back to the store.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    won't they not replace it since i tampered with the computer by taking the ram out?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •