Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: What should I OC my 6600GT to?

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Currently my card is running 300 mhz core clock speed and 1 ghz memory clock speed. I have the 128 meg/PCI Express version if that helps at all.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    300MHz is well below standard.

    Mine is currently running at 550 MHz & 1 GHz.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    ewwww, you get a PNY card or somethin?

    that's what I got, and it was underclocked like hell (300/900)
    isn't that the 6600's factory clock, and not the GT's? hmmm....

    anyhoot, if you run the reg tweak then go to clock settings,
    there's a button to check for optimal frequency,
    and it'll give you about 500/1000, maybe a little more
    (mine's set to 500/900, the default "performance 3D setting", couldn't be f*cked to scan frequencies)

    plus the stock cooling on the PNY sux balls, so.....

    edit - just ran the scan, it gives me 571 MHz/ 1.04 GHz
    Last edited by fkdup74; 11-14-2005 at 03:55 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    edit - just ran the scan, it gives me 571 MHz/ 1.04 GHz
    I think I got something like that, but the card was pretty cool at the time. I knew it wouldn't sustain those speeds when it got hot, so I knocked it back a touch.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Piece of fucking shit. It's a Chaintech (supposed to be the best performing 128 meg 6600GT). On top of that, the fan on it is noisy as hell and sometimes I have to flick it to make the noise stop.

    Ok, nvm about that. I clicked manual overclocking and it said my card was 500/1000 and auto detected it to 559/1.12.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    I already had nvtweak but thanks for reminding me that it automatically detects the best frequency. I never really noticed it a lot.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What's with the double posts within one minute of each other? Use the button.

    You could get a replacement fan under warranty.

    Or better yet... Replace it with a better cooler.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    How long is the warranty? I've had the card for almost a year now. I really would like a better card but just can't afford it.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9

    Smile

    Bargain !!!
    mine WAS 300MHz/1GHz
    tried -
    manual overclocking
    settings - performance(3D)
    detect optimal frequencies
    it's now 542MHz/1.09GHz

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    edit - just ran the scan, it gives me 571 MHz/ 1.04 GHz
    I think I got something like that, but the card was pretty cool at the time. I knew it wouldn't sustain those speeds when it got hot, so I knocked it back a touch.
    yeah, tuned mine down too, mostly 'cause I don't trust the PNY stock cooling
    I set mine back to 500/1000, seems like it's doing OK
    (no artifacts or glitches of any sort.....so far......)

    can't wait 'til I get the dough for my X1800

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •