Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: connecting tower speakers to pc? possible?

  1. #1
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    hi, just wondering if its possible to connect tower speakers(apprx 150watts) to pc? would like to know if thats possible or just a crazy thought.

    cheers

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    You can connect via auxiliary audio input through a receiver. Your PC doesn't have the pwr to amp the towers alone.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    im pretty sure it will play but you with such a small power source you will damage the speakers.

    Im guessing if you have a pair of floor standing speakers you must have an amp to run them so just buy a 3.5mm jack to phono connector. that should allow you to plug your pc into the amp.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    if you have a hifi with auxilliary just plug it into that

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Coventry
    Posts
    5
    I think you'll definitely need to run the Tower's through a separate amp. Your soundcard won't have the power to drive them on its own.

    Kev.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    matt526's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Age
    36
    Posts
    409
    Yes you must use a separate amp
    I have my computer running sound to my 500watt stereo
    most stereos have RCA input in the back.
    get something like this
    http://www.cablesforless.com/index.a...OD&ProdID=2043
    to go from PC to an Amp or stereo.

    If you have a good stereo system this is much cheaper then buying good PC speakers!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    just one more question:
    I want to replace 2 of the satellite speakers that came with my JVC home theater with something big:
    these speakers


    Just wondering, will this be plug n play? 'cause as i said my JVC home theater came with (5)satellite speakers, would having 2 big speakers and 3 satellite speakers cause any prb? or will it result in better sound?

    let me knw...
    specs:
    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...061275&catid=#

    let me know

    cheers
    Last edited by sameer0807; 11-22-2005 at 12:43 AM.

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    why do you want to replace them? But yes it should work fine. Just run rcas from ur sound card to your reciever then hook your speakers up!
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    I wouldn't recommend using speakers other than what came with the complete set.

    1. you don't know, or haven't stated, the impedance of the speakers in question. this is important as you could [easily] damage your stereo.

    2. speaker systems such as yours are matched to each other. whatever other speakers you try may have a larger/smaller/different-altogether frequency response then the originals. making for poor reproduction of the entire audio spectrum.

    If you don't understand any of what I've stated, then I suggest some further reading is in order.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by sameer0807
    just one more question:
    I want to replace 2 of the satellite speakers that came with my JVC home theater with something big:
    these speakers


    Just wondering, will this be plug n play? 'cause as i said my JVC home theater came with (5)satellite speakers, would having 2 big speakers and 3 satellite speakers cause any prb? or will it result in better sound?

    let me knw...
    specs:
    http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...061275&catid=#

    let me know

    cheers

    speakers connected to an external amplifier don't need to be plug n play,
    in fact the amp needs not be plug n play, p n p has no status here whatsoever
    and for speakers such as those I hope to hell you have an external amp
    those pull 200w apiece, and if you havent noticed your sound card does not have a built in amp
    speakers that come with pcs work because they are self-powered
    the line out on your sound card merely provides the signal, nothing more

    so your 1st order of business would be to see if your amplifier can handle them
    if your putting out, say, 50-100w RMS, I'd say you should be OK,
    but don't take my word for it
    find out the RMS wattage of your amp, find out the same for the speakers,
    dont pay attention to max wattage as it's 100% bullshit
    that's like saying USB2.0 is 480MBps period

    hint: if those speakers are 200w RMS, (I doubt they are),
    and your amp only pushes maybe 25-50w RMS, don't get them
    they will put out sound, yes, but you'll basically be wasting your money
    you will be coming nowhere near the capabilities of the speakers due to lack of power
    try to match up the RMS ratings between the two as closely as possible,
    but you don't have to get it dead on
    just don't go and buy speakers that your amp will only be powering at 25% capacity,
    same for less capable speakers,
    i.e. dont get 50w RMS speakers if your amp pushes 200w RMS,
    you could blow them out easily if you don't watch what you're doing

    -edit- and if yer willing to pay that much for those,
    I'd say put out a few more bucks and go Infinity


    Quote Originally Posted by matt526
    If you have a good stereo system this is much cheaper then buying good PC speakers!
    that's also bullshit, good pc speakers can be gotten for a fraction of what a good home stereo system would cost
    Last edited by fkdup74; 11-23-2005 at 01:18 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •