Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: !idea!360

  1. #1
    since according to ign the x360 is more powerful than 95% of computers out now. It got me thinking is there anyways to strip it down and convert it into a pc( well its basically a pc but i mean a standard pc with an OS) I was just wondering because the system is cheap it migh be a good alternative plus im curious.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Yes good call. Now just figure out how to break the hardware encryption and the several protection checks and maybe some digital signatures too.

    But luckily some of the best are already on the job (though not bunnie yet) Check http://www.free60.org/wiki/Main_Page

    For their task of putting a linux OS on the system
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    haha thats good to hear it would be cool to et linux on it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Quote Originally Posted by despikable
    since according to ign the x360 is more powerful than 95% of computers out now.
    take the hype with a grain of salt. they should have qualified that as "faster than most PCs at doing certain types of applications." there is no computer that can run every single type of program super-fast, and you can make any computer perform like a fat pile of ass just by figuring out what types of programs it isn't good at running.
    Last edited by 3RA1N1AC; 12-05-2005 at 08:26 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    Also, a Pc game is developed to preform at OS level then application level then graphics level and is all dependent on the various configurations of machines, so comparing let's say Call of Duty 2 to PC Call of Duty 2 is like apples to oranges, they are made much much differently.

    Just as another thing to think about.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    What are the specs on those things exactly?
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdawgfoxx
    What are the specs on those things exactly?
    The basics:

    Xbox 360 console: 512 MB of shared system and video RAM; a custom, symmetrical, three-core CPU with each core running at 3.2Ghz; and a custom-built ATI Graphics processor with unified shader technology.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    I need more specs on that ATI card before my input on this topic.
    3 core sounds like 9.6ghz, but it's probably like combining two nvidia graphics cards using SLI. It probably runs around 6.4ghz in this case, because the other two only give a .5 increase. .5 of 3.2ghz is 1.6, so you multiply that by 2 and get 3.2, then add that to the originally stated speed of 3.2, giving 6.4ghz.

    For the lazy ones, here's a little chart:
    3 3.2ghz cores= 3.2ghz+1.6ghz+1.6ghz=6.4ghz
    _______________________^______^
    extra CPU cores don't run at full speed.
    ______________________________
    Last edited by Wolfmight; 12-06-2005 at 09:48 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfmight
    I need more specs on that ATI card before my input on this topic.
    3 core sounds like 9.6ghz, but it's probably like combining two nvidia graphics cards using SLI. It probably runs around 6.4ghz in this case, because the other two only give a .5 increase. .5 of 3.2ghz is 1.6, so you multiply that by 2 and get 3.2, then add that to the originally stated speed of 3.2, giving 6.4ghz.

    For the lazy ones, here's a little chart:
    3 3.2ghz cores= 3.2ghz+1.6ghz+1.6ghz=6.4ghz
    _______________________^______^
    extra CPU cores don't run at full speed.
    ______________________________
    Im sure the other 2 can run at 3.2 or they would be getting heat from saying it can when it cant.

    But you dont combine them to make a 9.6 core clock speed. Each one is designated to do a certain task(s)
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfmight
    I need more specs on that ATI card before my input on this topic.
    3 core sounds like 9.6ghz, but it's probably like combining two nvidia graphics cards using SLI. It probably runs around 6.4ghz in this case, because the other two only give a .5 increase. .5 of 3.2ghz is 1.6, so you multiply that by 2 and get 3.2, then add that to the originally stated speed of 3.2, giving 6.4ghz.

    For the lazy ones, here's a little chart:
    3 3.2ghz cores= 3.2ghz+1.6ghz+1.6ghz=6.4ghz
    _______________________^______^
    extra CPU cores don't run at full speed.
    ______________________________


    Your logic makes my brain hurt!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •