Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Has this ever happened to you?

  1. #1
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Yesterday we moved someone's computer parts into a new case and the bastard didn't start when we finished. Everyone had a grounding strap and the mat was also grounded. We took everything out and checked if it might have been a part. We tried other power supplies. Other cables for the power.

    In the end, we nearly wasted 2 hours and I finally took a good hard look at the motherboard's instructional manual. After a fourth time of looking at the front panel jumper settings I noticed the power switch wasn't connected correctly!!!
    The damn thing was on "Green Switch" when it was supposed to be on "Soft Power Connector". Basically, it's in human nature to make this mistake, because what does the eye jump towards first when your trying to connect the computer's switch to the motherboard? "Switch"! Holy crap this has got to be the biggest load of crap.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    The computer can have more than one switch so I usually read the whole label

    I think that's happened to me but it took maybe 1 min to fix tops not 2 hours

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102



    wrong

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I always make a careful note of where I remove the wires from.

    It saves having to consult the manual, which have even been known to be wrong occasionally.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Green Switch feels like the Switch for the power since the Power LED is green.
    Green LED + Power Switch = An easy mistake.
    It kept slipping by me because of that very name.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Sounds like something I would do .

    Don't be so hard on yourself its not like you took it to a shop and they made you look stoopid !

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    I once concluded I had a bad power supply when nothing came on and I almost bought a new one until my little niece pointed out that the power-strip was in the "OFF" position. Sometimes technical questions can cause you to seek technical answers to even the simpliest problems.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss

    Don't be so hard on yourself its not like you took it to a shop and they made you look stoopid !
    Or you brought it my shop and we looked stupid.

    Darth is right...a "from the mouths of babes" kinda thang.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Ya the nice thing about puters is it taught me patience ,beleve me I needed it . But have a problem ? Ask a 12 year old for help you can't go wrong .

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    hah. Well, I wish they would rename "Green Switch" to "Green S" and "Soft Power Connector" to "Power Switch". That'd save the hassle.
    It's a gigabyte brand motherboard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •