Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: just added a SATA HDD....

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    ....is it normal for it to be on the "safely remove hardware" list?
    you know the icon in the system tray normally assosciated with USB shit?

    -edit- yes this is my 1st SATA drive

    -edit again- wtf is up with the board? I know rossco replied, but I can't quote? invalid link?
    and the edit page looks funky too........

    -edit a-fucking-gain-
    now I don't see his reply......
    Last edited by fkdup74; 12-19-2005 at 02:01 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yeppers.

    Windows is stupid.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    thnx clocker

    all the data I just put on the SATA (from my external HDD)
    is about to travel about 230 miles south,
    so I wanted to be half-ass sure

    -edit- although rossco's reply was much different,
    fuck it, windows can read the data, I ran a few files,
    everything looks good so far
    and my bro is taking off with the external in, like, a half hour or so,
    so it'll have to be ok
    but since I'm giving his ass a $150 HDD and about 70 GBs worth of music,
    he could at least keep the data until I know for sure
    Last edited by fkdup74; 12-19-2005 at 02:32 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    ok, now the nvraid service is giving me a feckin error every time I start windows
    you know the "blah blah has encountered an error and needs to close" window

    I'm thinking I have fuxked off my services or something,
    didn't install something with the mobo, or something, meh.

    windows acted stupid installing the drive too

    here's what I did:
    installed the hardware (WD2500KS) basically, a 250GB WD SATA2 w/16MB cache
    started windows, formatted w/ Acronis PE
    said it couldn't syncronize w/ Windows
    I said ok bitch, deleted the partition
    restarted, and the partition was there and recognized by Windows
    so I said to hell with it, and did my data transfer, and it's all there
    I am confused.......

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    My reply was that you are probably missing the driver for sata but then I did a quick search on google and found that it's normal for it to show as safely removable hardware.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    My reply was that you are probably missing the driver for sata but then I did a quick search on google and found that it's normal for it to show as safely removable hardware.
    yeah, I saw your reply,
    it's just that the board decided to fuck off when I was trying to quote you

    anyhoot, I disabled the nvraid service in msconfig, it's shut the hell up now
    feckin un-needed service as far as I'm concerned anyway
    even with SATA I wasn;'t planning on doing any strip[ing or anything
    all that "lose 1 and lose em all" shit isn't for me (RAID 0)
    and every other RAID array is wasting storage IMO

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    My reply was that you are probably missing the driver for sata but then I did a quick search on google and found that it's normal for it to show as safely removable hardware.
    That's because SATA drives are theoretically hot-swappable (although most motherboards don't support that feature yet).
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    My reply was that you are probably missing the driver for sata but then I did a quick search on google and found that it's normal for it to show as safely removable hardware.
    That's because SATA drives are theoretically hot-swappable (although most motherboards don't support that feature yet).
    It's kinda stupid tho...Wen you click the Stop button on the drive it says windows could not stop the drive...
    Couldn't windows have had some sort of check to see if it's a drive which would never be able to stop?




    I'm going to try disabling nvraid like fkdup did.



    edit: I don't see the nvraid service
    Last edited by tesco; 12-27-2005 at 04:30 PM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    -edit- oops I was way off on that shit.
    I need coffee.

    Last edited by fkdup74; 12-27-2005 at 07:11 PM.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    -edit- oops I was way off on that shit.
    I need coffee.

    I don't have that in my startup list.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •