Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Directions On Installing Xp Pro Corp

  1. #1
    nizers's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Yakima, Washington
    Posts
    252
    Before anybody gets in a tif. I've tried searching the forum repeatedly for a post about installing a Kazaa Version of XP Pro. If someone could post a link that'd help a ton. I know it's on here somewhere i remember reading it.. i just don't remember what i read. I need to know exactly what to do with the .exe 492kb file of PRO that i downloaded. I know that i have to use winRAR or something like that to burn it and make a bootable cd from it. Another ??, can i go and format my current HOME version and delete my entire comp. and then use the burnt cd to reinstall the PRO version?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    unlees u really wont a clean install ,because they use the same file system u could just open off ur h/d and install over home this way
    u get to keep all ur files and progs

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    nizers's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Yakima, Washington
    Posts
    252
    well that's nice to know. That i can do it without wiping everything... but i really wanted to do a clean install.... if it's possible. Does anybody know how to? I suppose i could do a clean install of my HE and then go over it with PRO, but that's a TON of work.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    after ur've bunr't to cd u could just change ur bios to boot from cd-rom first chuck in the cd and test it .if it starts to boot and install .u know its ok .u can head then if u want to format it clean and install pro.
    just don't forget if needed to have the key handy

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Ex-member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,529
    It's best to download the version of XP which is pinned in 'verifieds'.

    That CD image creates a bootable CD which can be used for clean-installing and if you pop the CD into the drive while running Windows then the autorun program is a menu for updating XP.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    nizers's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Yakima, Washington
    Posts
    252
    Originally posted by nizers@20 April 2003 - 19:03
    I need to know exactly what to do with the .exe 492kb file of PRO that i downloaded.
    The file that i DL'd is from the verified's section!

    @Cosmo... Good idea. I haven't used the key changer yet either so a couple questions before i start. If i generate a key is it guarenteed to work or should i generate like 10 of them just in case? And.. since you said "have a key handy" i'm also assuming that the key is like any other key (a series of letters and numbers) and not some sort of patch or registry entry type thing like some keygen's are.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Re: Windows XP. The version i got was not a bootable, I managed to do a fresh install by first installing windows ME then the XP.

    After you've done this go to this website:- http://keygen.us/ and do a search for windows XP

    Look for Windows XP Serial changer, theres two, the one i used was by Mr Dude, download this and just follow the instructions.

    Once your serial has been changed you can then go to The microsoft Site and download all the updates.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    I't's easy enough to make any xp pro bootable like an original to boot
    up ur machine and install from sratch all u need is a boot sector file called xpboot.img and a little reg file
    here's a guide and also to links
    it might seem a bit fiddly but it quite easy and takes 2mins

    tri

    o i sorry yeah it's a series or numbers & letters extract the file and there might b a txt with a s/n to put in when u install it and heres ahash to change the key once installed so u can update to sp1 rom the micro site like cyprushil said

    File:XPkeyChange.exe
    Length:48925 Bytes,48KB
    UUHash:=M+inv2s0l/UBDxFMKIzbNuJA//8=

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    please remember not to post any sig2dat files here.....they should be posted in the verifieds......it is easy also to make a bootable cd using roxio....just click bootable cd in the file menu.....as for the key changer.....u only need to change the key when you are installling the service pack.......you can use the key supplied with the app...and then use the key changer when u have to install the service pack...just read the .nfo that came with the file...u can download all the the other updates.....heres a link directly to the corporate update website.....

    Microsoft Windows Update Corporate Website

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    nizers's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Yakima, Washington
    Posts
    252
    Here's what i've done so far....

    I took the 492 byte.exe file from the verifieds and extracted it with winRAR and then burned all of the extracted files onto a cd using my regular HP burning software.. i would've done it with roxio but it seems to wanna mess up cd's alot and didn't want to waste the time. Anyways, then i took the 247kb Windows XP key changer program from the verifieds and ran it and came up with 2 PRO Corp. keys and wrote both of them down. Since i'm planning on doing a clean install i also took the key changer program and put it on floppy... just in case. So, i now have a bootable PRO cd and 2 good keys + the key changer program in case i need it later for more keys. With all of this i should be able to delete all my partitions and everything else on my computer and still be able to load up my new windows PRO, correct?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •