Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: weird boot problem

  1. #1
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    My new pc's been running smoothly for the last month.

    Today when I woke up and turned on my comp, I got a "searching for IDE Devices" message. Then, I get a list of my harddrives and CD/DVD drives. I pressed f8 and entered the boot menu, and from there I booted from my hard drive and everything was fine.

    Now EVERY TIME when I turn on the comp, I have to manually press f8 and then select my hard drive, and I've been trying and failing to fix the problem. Everything is fine after boot, but this really is VERY irritating.

    Any ideas?
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    Go into your bios and check the boot priority sequence. Make sure your HD is listed.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    My HD is 1st under boot priority, and the problem still persists...
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    master/slave?

    its a guesss

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    So whats different ? Did you update drivers or ? Just a thought but f8 and hit last known good config .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Okay, I just reformatted and reset my BIOS, and omg I still have to hit f8 to go in. And no my HD config is set to master, so I'm running out of ideas...
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Fixmbr or fixboot ? Using the Recovery Console:

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...ns_fixmbr.mspx

    It could be many things tho bad memory , heat issues , corrupted driver or virus .
    Last edited by peat moss; 01-01-2006 at 07:12 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss
    Fixmbr or fixboot ? Using the Recovery Console:

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...ns_fixmbr.mspx

    It could be many things tho bad memory , heat issues , corrupted driver or virus .
    Virus=not possible because of reformatting
    corrupted drivers=not possible because of reformatting
    heat issues=cpu, mem, vid card all running at optimal temps
    bad memory? I donno, maybe that's it?

    My boot time before was 52 secs, now it's 2 min 12 secs dammit
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Seedler
    Quote Originally Posted by peat moss
    Fixmbr or fixboot ? Using the Recovery Console:

    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d...ns_fixmbr.mspx

    It could be many things tho bad memory , heat issues , corrupted driver or virus .
    Virus=not possible because of reformatting
    corrupted drivers=not possible because of reformatting
    heat issues=cpu, mem, vid card all running at optimal temps
    bad memory? I donno, maybe that's it?

    My boot time before was 52 secs, now it's 2 min 12 secs dammit

    Virus ? Yes there are virus that attack the bios .
    Heat ?
    Drivers ? Corrupted ?

    Memory ? Memtester ? :http://www.memtest86.com/

    I'm just trying to help and was thinking what I would try .

    What does msconfig tell you about the start up ? Two min is a long time even with an antivirus and third party firewall .

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Don't know if its the same issue, however I too had a boot problem ( it would take 7-8 minutes to boot to windows. It drove me crazy....... I then remembered that I just connected usb card reader. it was trying to boot from all 5 slots in reader, I dissconnected all usb connections from back of machine. Problem Gone
    Don't think it helps you but maybe someone else

    Good Luck
    Last edited by tkpro; 01-02-2006 at 02:07 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •