Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: win xp home edition

  1. #1
    ok since i have win me already on my system,do i have to get the win xp upgrade cd to upgrade from me to xp?or do i have to get the full xp?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Can your system handle it?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    these are my specs...Operating System System Model
    Windows Millennium Edition (build 4.90.3000) Compaq Presario E51DEBCB
    System Serial Number: 1X13JD4JM3MP
    Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    800 megahertz Intel Celeron
    32 kilobyte primary memory cache
    128 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Compaq 06C0h
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: Compaq 686C3 01/04/2001
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    40.00 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    27.21 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    COMPAQ CD-ROM CRD-8402B
    LG CD-RW CED-8080B [CD-ROM drive]
    Generic floppy disk drive (3.5")

    QUANTUM FIREBALLlct20 40 [Hard drive] (40.03 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 654105387404, rev APL.0900, SMART Status: Healthy 128 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'DIMM1' has 128 MB
    Slot 'DIMM2' is Empty
    Local Drive Volumes

    c: (FAT32 on drive 0) 37.07 GB 24.48 GB free
    d: (FAT32 on drive 0) 2.93 GB 2.73 GB free

    Network Drives
    None detected
    Users (mouse over user name for details) Printers
    computer
    johnq86
    sasha#21
    Canon BJC-2100 on LPT1:

    Controllers Display
    Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    Intel 82801AA Bus Master IDE Controller
    Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo) Intel(r) 82810E Graphics Controller [Display adapter]
    COMPAQ CV535 [Monitor] (13.8"vis, January 2001)
    COMPAQ CV535 Color Monitor
    Bus Adapters Multimedia
    Intel(r) 82801AA USB Universal Host Controller ESS Allegro PCI Audio (WDM)
    Gameport Joystick (no joystick connected)
    MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
    Communications Other Devices
    PCTEL Platinum V.90 Modem
    Standard 56000 bps V90 Modem
    Standard 56000 bps V90 Modem #2


    Linksys LNE100TX(v5) Fast Ethernet Adapter
    primary IP Address: 68.193.227.145 / 20
    Gateway: 68.193.224.1
    Physical Address: 00:0C:41:F1:4D:C3
    Microsoft TV/Video Connection
    Microsoft Virtual Private Networking Adapter

    Networking Dns Servers: 167.206.245.9
    167.206.245.73
    167.206.245.10
    Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    Windows PS/2 Port mouse
    Generic USB Hub
    USB Root Hub
    HSP56 WDM DEVICE

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Just looking at the RAM. 128MB ain't gonna be faster than molasses if it'll even work.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    It will work even with 128 (thats the minimum). You will want the upgrade disc because its cheaper. You will do a full install with it, but you will have to put your ME disc in when windows XP asks for it. **If you have an OEM disc (dell, gateway, etc..) then you will need the full install disc, as retail XP upgrade discs dont recognize these as real copies. You WILL NOT want to do a upgrade to your os. Save all your files and shit to disc or wherever, and do a fresh install, because upgrades almost always screw something up. Also you will want to format your hard drive and delete all the partitions on it. I see that you have a D partition that probably has a recovery copy of ME on it. Wipe the entire drive out so you only have 1 partition on it.
    Last edited by McrslV; 01-03-2006 at 06:01 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    That's what I said about 128MB. But it won't be fun.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb
    That's what I said about 128MB. But it won't be fun.
    this is true. spend a few bucks and buy a 512 stick to compliment your 128 and you will be good, but you can still install it.
    Oh, and this is assuming you dont have a built in VGA, cuz then you will lose even more ram (I cant be bothered to read ALL your specs )
    Last edited by McrslV; 01-03-2006 at 06:28 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    my pc came with win me installed already.does that mean that i cnat upgrade since i dont have to win me cd?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Don't you fileshare? If not then what are you doing on this board?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Small problem with old Compaqs: BIOS is on a hidden partition on the hard drive, not on a chip on the mobo; clearing all partitions would be bad if this is the case here.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •