Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Phillips dvp642 problems?

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Hey everyone, I just set up my Phillips dvp642 player, and I have encountered a couple of things to ask. Number one, I have movies that have the black bars above and below the picture, like at a theater, but now when I play them on this dvd player, they go away, and the picture is stretched out, how do I fix this? And then, I burned some family guy episodes to a DVD (avi format divx encoded) and when I put the disk in it goes "reading index" and that flashes over and over again, and i can see the dvd player saying "stop" "play" back and forth over and over again, and then finally it goes, unrecognized codec qpel. Is there anyway I can fix that? Thanks guys!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    do you have a 4:3 tv? there shoud be an option to choose 'Letterboxed or Pan & Scan' change that option. (if you set your DVD player to 16:9 you dont have this option)

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by {I}{K}{E}
    do you have a 4:3 tv? there shoud be an option to choose 'Letterboxed or Pan & Scan' change that option. (if you set your DVD player to 16:9 you dont have this option)
    Where is this option located? I do have a 4:3 tv... I think?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    Quote Originally Posted by {I}{K}{E}
    do you have a 4:3 tv? there shoud be an option to choose 'Letterboxed or Pan & Scan' change that option. (if you set your DVD player to 16:9 you dont have this option)
    Where is this option located? I do have a 4:3 tv... I think?
    TV display ->

    4:3 PS
    4:3 LB
    16:9

    I think PS is default so change it to LB
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 01-06-2006 at 11:11 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Quote Originally Posted by {I}{K}{E}
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    Where is this option located? I do have a 4:3 tv... I think?
    TV display ->

    4:3 PS
    4:3 LB
    16:9

    I think PS is default so change it to LB
    Oh okay cool, I will try that.


    EDIT: Did it, nothing happened, also changed it to 16:9 and nothing happened, what now?
    Last edited by orcutt989; 01-07-2006 at 02:05 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    *bump

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    ...and then finally it goes, unrecognized codec qpel. Is there anyway I can fix that?
    unfortunately, you cannot play movies encoded with qpel on this player. there's a program called 'avi check' that will tell you if your *.avi movies are encoded with qpel or gmc (both unsupported).

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Just a little help guide that has been useful to me in the past
    http://www.jarnot.com/twiki/bin/view...LisaBsAVIGuide
    as a side note I finally figured out a great backup for my dvp642, a modded xbox ...Keeps the kids off the pc and it will play any thing.I don't think you could beat the combination of the two...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Okay then what about the letterbox problem?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    muchspl3's Avatar muchspl3 > muchspl2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Location Location
    Posts
    1,824
    Quote Originally Posted by lee551
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    ...and then finally it goes, unrecognized codec qpel. Is there anyway I can fix that?
    unfortunately, you cannot play movies encoded with qpel on this player. there's a program called 'avi check' that will tell you if your *.avi movies are encoded with qpel or gmc (both unsupported).
    I think she needs to finalize the disc, I had a similar problem once and it played finalized
    `anyone from Argentina on this board?

    I need your help and if you can help me pM me

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •