Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: Going From Intel To AMD

  1. #1
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    hey i currently got a intel s478 2.8ghz right now i am planning to upgrade to an AMD system..how do i do it and what do you recommend for gaming and nice mobo to go with it? and explain to me the difference between the 2 and what does like 2700+ mean?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    you wanna switch but you have no idea which one is actually 'better'?

    why do you wanna go from intel to AMD?
    Last edited by {I}{K}{E}; 01-09-2006 at 11:35 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    Hm. Lol.. that how question is beyond me but you'll have to replace your mobo, cpu, and possibly ram(? I'm sure I read that Intel and AMD ram run on different CAS latencies)

    I recommend an AMD athlon 3500+ for gaming with 2 gig ram. I've read that the 3000+ and etc mean it's the same speed as an Intel 3ghz. However, I'm not sure since they have the netburst technology and Intel transfers info in a more sloppier fashion.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    need new CPU and motherboard, ram u can keep i'm 99.9% sure (y wouldn't u be able to keep ur old ram, cuz that would make no sense ).

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    If u plan on a new AMD I would suggest a dual core and the only reason u won't be able to use ur new ram is if it's DDR2 memory. Not sure what u meant, azad. Although I found out that AMD will use the DDR2 memory sometime this year from a quick Google.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    yeah but my main problem now is that i got a 6600gt on AGP! which means if i were to get pci-e mobo then i would have to spend $200 on another 6600gt PCI-e ...hmm but i was looking at this and wondering if its good.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    this is what you do:

    find some chump/dumbass and sell ur vidcard (use ur imagination here to convince him/her/it) for double what u bought it, and yes, it is completely possible, in fact, offer that person ull install it for them free of charge

    use that money to buy a PCI-E card equivalent OR a better card

    if u went w/ the equivalent card for PCI-E, then take the surplus money and put it towards a good DUAL CORE AMD processor as gameguy pointed out, preferabbly 3800+ and up.

    and if u went with a more extravagent vid card, then save up and get a dual core anyway, cuz in a few months/year(s) ull need to upgrade to dualcore anyway.


    edit: real life example: i sold my geforce fx5200, yes a crappy 5200 128mb PCI (not express or AGP!) card, for 250 dollars canadian! i installed it for him, he's like 12 yrs old and got his parents to buy it for him. i didnt find any buyers but u gotta keep looking, there is always someone dumb enough, always. but then again, this was half a year ago, no idea what 5200's were worth, but definitely not that much, prob. not even worth 60 bucks back then
    Last edited by cpt_azad; 01-10-2006 at 05:38 AM.

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by cpt_azad
    this is what you do:

    find some chump/dumbass and sell ur vidcard (use ur imagination here to convince him/her/it) for double what u bought it, and yes, it is completely possible, in fact, offer that person ull install it for them free of charge

    use that money to buy a PCI-E card equivalent OR a better card

    if u went w/ the equivalent card for PCI-E, then take the surplus money and put it towards a good DUAL CORE AMD processor as gameguy pointed out, preferabbly 3800+ and up.

    and if u went with a more extravagent vid card, then save up and get a dual core anyway, cuz in a few months/year(s) ull need to upgrade to dualcore anyway.


    edit: real life example: i sold my geforce fx5200, yes a crappy 5200 128mb PCI (not express or AGP!) card, for 250 dollars canadian! i installed it for him, he's like 12 yrs old and got his parents to buy it for him. i didnt find any buyers but u gotta keep looking, there is always someone dumb enough, always. but then again, this was half a year ago, no idea what 5200's were worth, but definitely not that much, prob. not even worth 60 bucks back then
    A fine example of how to rip someone off. A 12year old at that. Remind me to never buy anything from cpt_azad.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    cpt_azad is a huge scam artist.... im suprised you guys didnt know that

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    trajillo's Avatar Fitter Happier
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Meccamputechture, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    856
    im going to go with buying a AMD ATHLON64 X2 3800+ 64-BIT CPU which is about $500 AUS ...then that leaves me $200 left to buy http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081
    That... then when i get enough i'll get a pci-e graphics card and add it to that...
    or i'll try and sell my 6600gt (i got for $212) i'll try and sell for $250 then i will have $450 to buy a 6600gt pci-e or higher and mobo but still getting the dual core.
    i'll go with the first option until i can find a buying for at least $200 .

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •