Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: S video

  1. #1
    hey

    I know there is a ton of these topics but with my search i could not find anything helpful

    i have http://www.cofa.unsw.edu.au/units/re...kett_small.jpg
    in the back of my DVD player and
    http://www.refurbished-laptops.biz/i...-photo-big.jpg
    in the back of my laptop... the s-video cable i have uses 2 of the same ends which is http://www.wfp76364.w1.com/GENMARK%2...0%232%20B1.jpg....
    will these work allthough the two female ends have a different number of pins? if so, what are the step to get it going?

    thanks alot
    scott

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    muchspl3's Avatar muchspl3 > muchspl2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Location Location
    Posts
    1,824
    it will work

    I never noticed but my labtop have the same amount of pins but I use just a regular svid to hook up to my TV
    `anyone from Argentina on this board?

    I need your help and if you can help me pM me

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by muchspl3
    it will work

    I never noticed but my labtop have the same amount of pins but I use just a regular svid to hook up to my TV
    That's odd, I can't plug my 4pin svideo cable into the 7pin svideo connector on my vid card.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Two of pins 5, 6 and 7 are for composite video, the other is unused (can't remember which). The 4-pin plug should fit straight in to a standard 7-hole socket.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Hey

    thanks for the information

    i tryed to link my desktop and dvd player with that same cable. My desktop is a 32bit 2800+ with winodws xp. more importantly it has a NVIDIA GeForce fx 5600 with an s-video output. When i connect my graphics card with the dvd player with the s video cable it does nothing. In display properties its still only shows 1 monitor and every thing is the same as if i didn't have the cable connected

    what do you think?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    muchspl3's Avatar muchspl3 > muchspl2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Location Location
    Posts
    1,824
    your dvd player your hooking it up to is a output not an input, you need to hook it to a input before you can goto the properties and clone your desktop
    `anyone from Argentina on this board?

    I need your help and if you can help me pM me

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    so if it doesn't have an input, it is no use?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    What are you trying to do anyway?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    i'm trying to use the Tv as a second desktop

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by scottwile
    hey

    I know there is a ton of these topics but with my search i could not find anything helpful

    i have http://www.cofa.unsw.edu.au/units/re...kett_small.jpg
    in the back of my DVD player and
    http://www.refurbished-laptops.biz/i...-photo-big.jpg
    in the back of my laptop... the s-video cable i have uses 2 of the same ends which is http://www.wfp76364.w1.com/GENMARK%2...0%232%20B1.jpg....
    will these work allthough the two female ends have a different number of pins? if so, what are the step to get it going?

    thanks alot
    scott
    i'm trying to use the Tv as a second desktop
    They are both outputs. They won't do what you want.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •