Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Arctic Silver

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Right, it's pushing 42 degrees (Celcius) here in Cape Town. My CPU is running at 68 and it's threshold is 70. Time for some Thermal Paste...How much of a difference should it make?
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Not too much, but you should consider getting the Artic Silver 5, what I'm using for like 10 bucks. It's probably the best thermal paste out there.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Some say up to 10 degrees Celsius with AS5 or AS ceramique.

    I'm not sure about that particular number, but the temperature did drop noticeably when I switched to AS5 from some generic stuff that came with my barebone.

    It wouldn't hurt if you got some, but make sure you follow the instructions for it properly. If you don't, and instead put on too much of it or something, it won't work as well.
    Last edited by Snee; 02-01-2006 at 05:28 PM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You would get better results by cleaning out the dust from the heatsink and improving the case airflow.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    suprafreak6's Avatar Suprafreak6 is Back!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    -=U.S.A=-
    Posts
    2,450
    agreed, tidy up them wires and hook up a fan

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster BT Rep: +13BT Rep +13BT Rep +13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    233
    Seedler, is as5 better than ceramique? I heard that the conductivity of the silver can possible cause damage to the cpu, whereas ceramique doen't conduct electricity, and performs nearly as well?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    If all you change is the TIM I'd be surprised if you saw any change at all.
    IMO, the benefits of AS5 over generic white paste are minimal and the supposed drop in temps after the 200 hour "breakin period" has never occured for me.

    YMMV.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by ajg
    I heard that the conductivity of the silver can possible cause damage to the cpu
    Nope, if you do everything right, that possibility is smaller than like winner the lottery. I use as5, and it performs well IMO. I haven't had a problem with it. If you do decide to use it though, be sure to use only a SMALL amount. More is not better in this case.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Seedler
    Quote Originally Posted by ajg
    I heard that the conductivity of the silver can possible cause damage to the cpu
    Nope, if you do everything right, that possibility is smaller than like winner the lottery. I use as5, and it performs well IMO. I haven't had a problem with it. If you do decide to use it though, be sure to use only a SMALL amount. More is not better in this case.
    It's not conductive in its own at all, the only reason it'd be conductive would be if it'd been contaminated with something else, I think.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by SnnY
    It's not conductive in its own at all, the only reason it'd be conductive would be if it'd been contaminated with something else, I think.
    from AS's site:
    Caution:
    While much safer than silver greases engineered for high electrical conductivity, Arctic Silver thermal compound should be kept away from electrical traces, pins, and leads. The compound is slightly capacitive and could cause problems if it bridged two close-proximity electrical paths.
    also from AS website:
    On systems measuring actual internal core temperatures via the CPU's internal diode, the measured temperature will often drop 2C to 5C over this "break-in" period.
    I might have seen around a 2 or 3 degree drop, can't remember
    but definately not 10

    I have to agree w/ clocker on this one
    the 200 hour break in period, the price of the compound...
    it just never justified itself

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •