Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Old Games On Xp

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    333
    In my search to bring the classics like the original doom, and Duke Nukem3d to my computer again. I ran across one problem, XP compatibility. I downloaded the zip and tried to install...and runtime error in my DOS window. I don't think it likes XP . Changing the compatibilty didn't help either.

    Anyone know of anyway to get these kinds of games working on XP?

  2. Games   -   #2
    Jonne's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    K-Town, Belgium
    Posts
    331
    I tried Duke 3D on my computer (win2000) and i couldn't get it to work either. I had to install it on an old laptop with win 95. i don't know how you could get around it, except installing win98 or something on an other partition or something like that, and guess what settings you have to use for sound and video.

  3. Games   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    333
    Hmm I was hoping to not have to partition and install another operating system for this stuff to work. That's just not worth it. Maybe someone else will have an idea though.

  4. Games   -   #4
    MagicNakor's Avatar On the Peripheral
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,401
    I've got a lot of old games working with XP. Unfortunately, I don't play shooters, so I've never tried getting Duke Nukem or Doom to run. Is your download of it alright?

    things are quiet until hitler decides he'd like to invade russia
    so, he does
    the russians are like "OMG WTF D00DZ, STOP TKING"
    and the germans are still like "omg ph34r n00bz"
    the russians fall back, all the way to moscow
    and then they all begin h4xing, which brings on the russian winter
    the germans are like "wtf, h4x"
    -- WW2 for the l33t

  5. Games   -   #5
    imported_The__One
    Guest
    Old games, wich are based on DOS will usually not run in XP, I have a very large collection of old games (like Indiana Jones: The secret of atlantis...i think), and they simply refuse to run under XP, largley due to the fact that XP dosen't have a DOS mode. And Duke Nukem3d is DOS based. So U'll have to either install windows 95 or 98 on another partition, or get a old comp and run the games there.

  6. Games   -   #6
    Bowen747x's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New York
    Age
    31
    Posts
    632
    i run doom, doom 2 and the final doom just fine w/ XP
    i also run indiana jones foa but no sound same with several other games
    tYiA

  7. Games   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    333
    Did you get your Dooms off of fasttrack? If so I could use some verifies. I was hoping there was some sort of program to download that can assist in playing these games.

  8. Games   -   #8
    imported_The__One
    Guest
    i run doom, doom 2 and the final doom just fine w/ XP
    i also run indiana jones foa but no sound same with several other games

    well I guess it's possible to run DOS games under XP....don't know how tho

  9. Games   -   #9
    MagicNakor's Avatar On the Peripheral
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,401
    It's very easy to run DOS games under XP. Some even run better than under 98SE.

    Compatibility mode helps somewhat. If you're needing sound, get VDMSound. The one game I have that it didn't work with was Gabriel Knight I.

    things are quiet until hitler decides he'd like to invade russia
    so, he does
    the russians are like "OMG WTF D00DZ, STOP TKING"
    and the germans are still like "omg ph34r n00bz"
    the russians fall back, all the way to moscow
    and then they all begin h4xing, which brings on the russian winter
    the germans are like "wtf, h4x"
    -- WW2 for the l33t

  10. Games   -   #10
    u could try ( I don't belive I'm saying this) using the command line !!!...start up the DOS box in win2k/XP and give the path and filename from there !.....it may just work ( it's probably the best of the emulators lol )




    start>>run>>type : cmd (that will give u dos in xp )...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •