Thread: Quality of DVD Playback on PC is a bit poor....

Rip The Jacker's Avatar Retired
    I was wondering... uh... whenever I play a DVD on my PC... the quality kind of looks... well it sucks. I mean it's not bad, but it doesn't look as good as it would on my TV. Why is that? I get the same results... weither I play the DVD in Windows Media Player, Windows Media Center, or Intervideo WinDVD.

Does my video card have anything to do with it? Right now I'm using the onboard ATI Radeon Xpress 200 with 256mb shared memory. Or is it because I use an LCD monitor at 1280 x 1024? I have all the latest codecs and everything... yet DVD's look funny when I play them on my PC....

Any ideas?

2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    There are HDPC software tweaks you need to checkout. My neighbor swears by ffdshow but I have no experience in HDPC.

http://www.myhometheater.homestead.com/HTPC.html
    http://www.htpcnews.com/forums/index.php

3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    it looks good on a TV because the reselution is so low on TV's and the pizels are blurred given a suprisingly good effect

Computer screens however have tiny pixels and much greater resolution so you can see the DVD actual quality which isnt all that good

It means that TV's cant sho great detail, ever tried plugging your computer into a TV, if you have it explains it

hope that helps
    man who sniff coke get ice cube up nose

4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    I use PowerDVD 5 i find the quality of dvds on my pc is better than on my telly..

5. Software & Hardware   -   #5