Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DDR400 in a DDR333 board?

  1. #1
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    can i use ddr400 instead of ddr333 in a mobo that was made for 333? I am thinking I can, but i forget. I know it wont run at 400, but I figure I could just buy ddr400 in case i upgrade this mobo to one that does use it.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    check the mobo manufacturer's docs or web site
    I have an MSI mobo that dates back to 2001, and it can
    so if it's fairly new, I'd say it probably can

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    In most cases it will work. I say "most cases" because I have seen 1 that didn't post.

    What board and what memory module are we talking about anyway?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    an asus p4pe mobo, and thinking of the corsair xms 2gb cuz its only about 160 bucks. This is actually my brothers pc

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I'm quite confident that they will work together.

    Check out this similar board using the same chipset. http://www.motherboard.cz/mb/asus/P4PE-X.htm

    They refer to it as supporting DDR400 (Overclocking). So in fact they manage to run it at 400 so I see no reason why it won't run at 333.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    thanks VB. I remeber something about OCing that board to get the fsb to 800, but cant find the info on how thats done anymore. ASUS website is where the info used to be, but its gone now. Ill have to google around a bit I spose. Thanks again

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •