Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help! Admin Settings Changed!

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    I just got Photoshop CS2 off TorrentReactor.net

    I ran the file Setup.Exe which has an Adobe icon, nothing happened. When I tried to Ctrl-Alt-Del it says "Task Manager Has Been Disabled By Your Administrator". When I goto Msconfig, it just takes me to my Documents And Settings Folder...

    Can someone help me?!!

    Edit: Ok, it was a virus. My Regedit has also been Disabled By Admin. The virus is gone, but how can I fix this?
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    Ok, I seem to have fixed the problem and fixed everything except MSconfig still takes me to My Documents, I've used TuneUp's Start Up Utility to remove the virus's traces from the start up, but how can I fix the fact that it takes me too My Documents when I try run it?
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,046
    I fixed it, thank god. Now I just need to be sure that Sys. Restore works.
    www.never-dead.cjb.net

    Ardeth In Pre-Production

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    make sure you comment on the virus in torrentreactor so as to warn off others from doing the same. This is another example of why private trackers are better. glad you got it all fixed up

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp
    I fixed it, thank god. Now I just need to be sure that Sys. Restore works.


    one of the first things you should do if you suspect a virus infection....
    turn off system restore

    then go about cleaning/repairing, then reboot, then you can re-enable sys restore

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    Quote Originally Posted by Vamp
    I fixed it, thank god. Now I just need to be sure that Sys. Restore works.


    one of the first things you should do if you suspect a virus infection....
    turn off system restore

    then go about cleaning/repairing, then reboot, then you can re-enable sys restore

    Well said Fkdup , but a lot of people forget that . I think thats why I disabled System Restore in the first place and went to a dvd ghost type back up . But different strokes for different folks .

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    The thing I think people are missing about SR. Theres 3 ways to set it. On, off & the 3rd is to delete all previous SRP.

    I take a different course with SR. Every couple days at least I do some simple cleanup, TU2006 etc. When I get the AOK I set a SRP. Then I delete all other SRP. Then before attempting a clean of a virus or other nasty as OP. I set a SRP. Then I go about my scanning. If that f*cks everything up as it sometimes does. I have SRP to go back to & try other cleaning methods. After it's all AOK again. I set a new SRP. I usually call it "AOK". Then I delete all previous SRP. Good to go. No need to turn it off.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb
    No need to turn it off.
    nope, no need....until you catch a virus that can exploit sys restore....

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Exploit such as reside there? If other please explain. Cause viruii residing in SR usually don't leap into the OS. Unless I failed to use SR according to the method I outlined. Course if the method I use traps a virus in SR. And the virus leaps into the active OS. Then I'm not adverse to the turn off/turn on method. But in my preferred method it helps avoid the cure is worse than the problem scenario (catastrophic system failure as the result of fixing the problem.)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •