Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Da click of death...

  1. #1
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    My Maxtor diamondmax 10 200GB 16mb HD just died ...

    I think the HD is still in warranty, so I guess ii'll RMA the fucker.

    My question is that because I overclocked my comp, would that void the HD warranty? Because when you OC your cpu, your RAM and PCI speeds are gets OCed because of the HTT increase. Would this affect the HD?

    Good thing I backed up yesterday...Now running my comp on my ancient 40gig WD...
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    No, the HDD is unaffected by any OCing you may perform.

    Congratulations on your prescient backup....none of my customers back up a damn thing.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    Not likely, but maxtor had me run a diagnostic prog and give them code it spits out. You'll probably want to turn off OC when running this prog. It took about 10 days for my rma.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    No, the HDD is unaffected by any OCing you may perform.

    Congratulations on your prescient backup....none of my customers back up a damn thing.
    ahh indeed...still have all my games and movies

    Hope blu-ray is standarized soon tho, so all my BT downloads would be backed onto like 4 discs.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Sushi
    Not likely, but maxtor had me run a diagnostic prog and give them code it spits out. You'll probably want to turn off OC when running this prog. It took about 10 days for my rma.
    Thanks for the tip, I'll contact ppl tom morning
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    Quote Originally Posted by Seedler
    ahh indeed...still have all my games and movies

    Hope blu-ray is standarized soon tho, so all my BT downloads would be backed onto like 4 discs.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darth Sushi
    Not likely, but maxtor had me run a diagnostic prog and give them code it spits out. You'll probably want to turn off OC when running this prog. It took about 10 days for my rma.
    Thanks for the tip, I'll contact ppl tom morning
    me too. It isn't easy to back up 500GB of data. (mostly video projects...and I constantly delete cache...only saving the important Uncompressed AVIs.)

    I can't afford a 500GB hardrive right now.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    backing up, i try not to keep anything on a hard drive too long, burn my movies, keep the drive frag free, and do a ghost backup once in a blue moon.
    ...

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    www.maxtor.com
    They have a smart warranty system where you enter the drive's serial number and it tells you when the warranty will run out, then they present you with their drive utility download to run from a booting floppy that gives you the error code, which you enter on the form back at Maxtor's site.
    If you're lucky though, the people you bought it from will exchange it for you and save you the hassle/wait involved in RMAing to Maxtor themselves.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Bad news about ya hard drive.
    I had it happen on my notebook.

    How do you rate the diamondmax now?
    was going to buy a DiamondMax 300GB @ 76 from Ebuyer
    I was always a bit unsure about Maxtor drives, until the new diamondmax came out.
    Last edited by Buffalo; 03-16-2006 at 09:26 PM.
    The idiosyncratic syntax of riddles interests me

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    my 160gb seagate dies on me a few weeks ago. I have to send it in. I;ve packed it, I just have to drop it at the post station.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    GepperRankins's Avatar we want your oil!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    the suburbs. honestment
    Age
    31
    Posts
    21,102
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    No, the HDD is unaffected by any OCing you may perform.

    Congratulations on your prescient backup....none of my customers back up a damn thing.
    well can't you do anything for them? isn't it your job?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •