Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: phpBB hosting question

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I have a account with www.forumer.com for a phpBB forum.

    I've been looking into backup it up.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to do it?

    I've tried coding a VB application to take each page and insert it into a MS Access database, but it doesn't have a very clean apperance.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    erRor67's Avatar Lord Of Everything
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    836
    you should ask at their support forums..

    but normally, you cant really make a true backup without the admin's assistance (admin of the website, not your personal forum)..

    Some sites do it for free, others charge, others dont even bother.. your best bet is to check out their support forums: http://forum.forumer.com/
    blah blah blah... whatever...



  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    What kind of access do you they give you?
    Do you have ftp or phpmyadmin?

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I have phpmyaadmin

    Just checked their forums and sadly their reply was

    No. Back-up's are no longer an option Forumer is considering.
    However, Forumer does does automatic backups on all boards.
    Though I think that is a bad idea on their part.

    I guess I'll have to tweak my VB program.
    Last edited by lightshow; 03-25-2006 at 11:14 PM.
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    How big is the database?
    Unless it's over 50mb (in which case i wouldn't recomend doing this), you could just export the database using phpmyadmin.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    It's definatly less than 50 Mb.

    I'm checking the adminstrative control panel and I'm just not seeing any export option. hmm
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by lightshow
    It's definatly less than 50 Mb.

    I'm checking the adminstrative control panel and I'm just not seeing any export option. hmm
    Just chose the database in the side navbar then there should be a button that sayas "Export" at the top.
    Click "SELECT ALL" (for what to export) then chose save as file and hit go.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    Don't know about phpbb, but vbulletin allows you to create a backup via the admincp. Only a good idea for a small database of course.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Borgs8472
    Don't know about phpbb, but vbulletin allows you to create a backup via the admincp. Only a good idea for a small database of course.
    That's right, but it's the same as using phpmyadmin.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    ^ ^
    I never found that. I always found the phpmyadmin didn't suffer from the timeouts etc that doing it from the admincp did...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •