Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: What to know about Memory Timings

  1. #1
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    so, i've been reading up on memory timings and all i know is:

    CAS Latency = 2
    RAS to CAS Delay = 3
    RAS Precharge delay = 3
    Precharge to active delay = 6

    = 2 3 3 6

    is there anything else i should read upon or know of mem timings? thx.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    The best memory has a slight lower "CAS Latency" and a slightly higher "Precharge to active delay". Observe:-

    CAS Latency = 1
    RAS to CAS Delay = 3
    RAS Precharge delay = 3
    Precharge to active delay = 7

    = 1 3 3 7


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I have never seen CAS1 RAM and even CAS1.5 is rare.

    @nails:
    Why are you "reading up" on RAM timing?
    Is 2,3,3,6 the default on your memory?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I have never seen CAS1 RAM and even CAS1.5 is rare.

    @nails:
    Why are you "reading up" on RAM timing?
    Is 2,3,3,6 the default on your memory?
    His sig says: 2x512 Crucial DDR 400 PC 3200 @ 3.3.3.8

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    I was just about to ask, what are good timings? And what do they mean if anyone would like to explain? This ram I see has 2-3-2-5 Timing, is it any good? Also what does it mean when it says unbuffered in the memory.
    Systems Specs
    -----------------------------------
    O/S: Windows Xp Service Pack 2
    Processor: Intel Pentium 4
    Speed: 2.6 ghz
    Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 6800 128MB DDR SDRAM
    Ram: 1Gig of ram
    Comp Model: Hp Pavilion a250n
    -----------------------------------

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I have never seen CAS1 RAM and even CAS1.5 is rare.
    i think he's just showing an example by writing in LeeT!

    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    @nails:
    Why are you "reading up" on RAM timing?
    Is 2,3,3,6 the default on your memory?
    reading up on it cuz i never have set timings myself and am about to upgrade to some Corsair XMS memory and read that u most likely WILL HAVE to set the timings and wanted to be sure to get it right.

    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    His sig says: 2x512 Crucial DDR 400 PC 3200 @ 3.3.3.8
    you are correct.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    do any of u know how to change the command rate? i mean, do u know when to change it? is it neccessary? my current command rate is 2T. is there a reason to change it to 1T?

    edit: bought those 2gb of corsair xms. party time!
    Last edited by mr. nails; 04-05-2006 at 04:03 PM.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    OCZ's got some Platinum REV2 ram at 2.2.2.5 Might get it one day.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    got my ram, but when i set timing from 3,3,3,8 to (what their supposed to be) 2,3,3,6 my system reboots. i have to go to work now, but i'll mess with the voltage when i get home. hope that helps me out.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    I have never seen CAS1 RAM and even CAS1.5 is rare.
    yea, it was LeeT thing, cuz leet is sooooo coool. All the cool people are doing it, or not.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •