Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: new hardware for my pc

  1. #1
    mikeco's Avatar Rossco's Manager
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    695
    im after some new parts for pc (motherboard, hard drive, ram, cpu and psu)

    heres what i have come up with:

    hard drive:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=94403
    (250gb hard drive SATA 2 300MB/s transfer rate 16 MB cache)


    mother board:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...uct_uid=102900
    (1x SATA2, 2x SATA)


    RAM:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=65719
    (PC 3200 400mhz 1GB stick)


    PSU:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=98566
    (seems nice has every thing needed '8x 4pin, 2x sata, 2x floppy 1x20+4 MOBO power 24 or 20 MOBO, 1x 6pin PCI-E, 1x4 pin 12v MOBO' 480W holey style cover with a big 120mm fan on it)


    CPU:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=88105
    (looks good overclocking it to 2.5ghz is something to keep in mind if needed)


    will get a graphics card later on, as the motherboard supports AGP and PCI-E



    total: 284
    what u think?
    Last edited by mikeco; 04-16-2006 at 11:05 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    chojin's Avatar In Hell With SaTan
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Birmingham
    Posts
    97
    Go for the Samsung Spinpoint P120 HDD's, I have 2 and they are fast and very quiet

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=247245
    ---------
    SYSTEM
    ---------
    AMD 3800x2 64BIT
    ASUS A8N SLI PREMIUM
    3GB Corsair TwinX 3200 Cas 2
    XFX 7800GT Extreem
    2 x 250GB Samsung SATA2 7200 8MB
    160GB WD HDD External
    120GB WD HDD External
    520W HyperPower
    19" IIyama VM 451 Pro
    WIN XP64
    10MB BBI

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by chojin
    Go for the Samsung Spinpoint P120 HDD's, I have 2 and they are fast and very quiet

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=247245
    Only 8 MB cache tho the samsung has.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Forget the motherboard.
    Having both AGP and PCIe is like tits on a boar.

    Find a nF4 chipset board instead and pair it with RAM sporting a CAS of two instead of three, even if you can only start with a 512mb stick.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mikeco's Avatar Rossco's Manager
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    695
    well i dont have a PCI-E card and i plan 2 get 1 in june but for now ill use the AGP card i got now, i dont see whats wrong with AGP and PCI-E

    ill search for another motherboard as thats out of stock, whats 'RAM sporting a CAS of two instead of three'?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Even more important than getting CL2 memory: get a matched pair of 512MB dimms rather than a single 1GB dimm so your system can operate in dual-channel mode.

    2x512MB, CL2
    A little more than you were originally going to spend, but the difference in performance will be well worth it.

    2x512MB, CL3
    Nearer your original budget and only CL3, but still far better than your original choice.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by crycoroni
    well i dont have a PCI-E card and i plan 2 get 1 in june but for now ill use the AGP card i got now, i dont see whats wrong with AGP and PCI-E
    Why not just wait till June and get everything at once?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    mikeco's Avatar Rossco's Manager
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    695
    iv desided to scrap the idea of getting a agp + pci-e board and just get a pci-e card now while im at it, i have spent a while checking out the boards and found this nice 1:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...uct_uid=102598

    also think ill just stick with this ram as well:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=54472

    i have no clue which nvidia graphics card to get, i cant tell the difference from some of them, im guessing a 6800 or a 6600 something around 80-90 (inc vat)

    could u guys help me pick out a pci-e nvidia card?

    i found these 2 cards:
    http://ebuyer.co.uk/customer/product...uct_uid=105118

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=81343

    i like the 1st 1 alot and its also good what u think?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •