Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Intel's answer to the AMD 64 FX-62

  1. #1
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    i've never had an intel. i've always went amd. it's not to far back, but back as far as the 900mhz. guess i've had 4 pc's. 900mhz, to a 1.4ghz, to a 1.8ghz and finally to a 2.2ghz. surprisingly great performance hits even though only @ 400mhz upgrades at a time. anyway, these new Intel Core 2 Chips with Conroe cores are looking GREAT!!! hrm, maybe a switch in manufacturers are due? but then again... amd's supposed to supply us with an answer next week with their response to these sweet, sweet conroe's. lol, it better be good. especially with those prices intel's set for these new chips! unbeatable?

    Source
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Time for the Intel switch.

    I doubt AMD will be able to catch up with AM2, but then again, I still use AMD and I prefer surprises.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    HCT's Avatar WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Age
    29
    Posts
    514
    intel finally got it right

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by HCT
    intel finally got it right
    Seems unlikely.
    Amd haven't started 65nm production yet.
    I'm pretty confident that when they do they will blow Intel "out of the water".
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    Agreed. The 65nm chips are going to be quad-core and totally pwn the intel chips as the engineers will have more space to work on the quad-core chips.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Looks nice, but....
    AMD's still whoopin' em in the memory bandwidth.
    Curious now to see how AM2 answers.....

    I didn't read too far into the article...is Intel still using a Northbridge/Southbridge setup?
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    racer II's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    36
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    Looks nice, but....
    AMD's still whoopin' em in the memory bandwidth.
    Curious now to see how AM2 answers.....

    I didn't read too far into the article...is Intel still using a Northbridge/Southbridge setup?
    Actually , am2 setup went back to a northbridge and a southbridge.
    System:
    LANPARTY UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
    Xfx 7900gt extreme
    2x Maxtor 250gb sata
    2x Maxtor 80gb (p)ata
    2x 512mb mem , dual channel
    Tagan 580w psu
    Coolermaster stacker case
    Zalman reserator 1

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by racer II
    Quote Originally Posted by fkdup74
    Looks nice, but....
    AMD's still whoopin' em in the memory bandwidth.
    Curious now to see how AM2 answers.....

    I didn't read too far into the article...is Intel still using a Northbridge/Southbridge setup?
    Actually , am2 setup went back to a northbridge and a southbridge.
    Nope, the memory controller is still built in to the cpu.

    Edit: admittedly, there is still some mention that there is a Northbridge/Southbridge setup, but that's not for memory transfers to the CPU.
    Last edited by lynx; 06-11-2006 at 01:24 PM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    So basically people who just bought a FX-60 or 62 just got badly ripped off?
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Kinda scary cuz the intel wins most benchmarks...but Im sure AMD has plenty of tricks up their sleves
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •