Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Im Unable to logg to Win XP Pro

  1. #1

    Unsure

    MY dad had past away this past spring and he had an older model Dell optiplex system and we know theres nothing on it and I would like to if theres any way of crashing the system and reinstalling windows XP for my kids to used Help..

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    You don't know his password you mean ? If you have the xp disk boot from cd and format ,reinstall .



    There are ways of logging on , are you sure there's nothing on the computer ? If it was my Dad's I'd want to be sure I did n't delete some treasured pictures .


    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=306214
    Last edited by peat moss; 07-01-2006 at 01:41 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    May be you could use a live cd and backup your data before format. Also try booting in safe mode and check if there is a user called "Administrator". If there is then you have no problems.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5

    Unsure

    Im stilling some problems loggin in again after following your advice.. It sad that im having to go thru this problem.. I cant find the XP Pro Cd. Am I am able to just install XP ver on this computer with having the Passoword and start fresh.. or am I going to have to buy a program or a over price tech to save this computer.. HELP

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    The Windows XP CD will do what you need. You don't need a password.

    Bootup with the Windows XP CD and delete the current partition(s), recreate new partition(s) and install fresh new Windows.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    spenz's Avatar Friendly guy BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    406
    what do you exactly mean mate? did you mean trying to reformat then reinstalling windows xp pro?..

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    would you still beable to do that if the password was in bios

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by andy b
    would you still beable to do that if the password was in bios

    Most bios passwords don't protect the HDD , you can put in anouther machine as slave or just remove the cmos battery or switch jumpers .

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    spenz's Avatar Friendly guy BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    406
    that's ryt, peat mate is correct. Do that and you will be able to access your HDD again at the expense of resetting your system bios too. but it's not a problem for you since you don't overclock ryt.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •