Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Complicated NAT problem...Help

  1. #1
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644

    Question Mark

    I sold my p3 laptop that I use to download, and now I have to download through my new desktop.

    I tried to configure my new connection, but I'm too noob to solve the NAT problem I'm experiencing.

    I am using a 5mb/s cable connection, and the cable modem is RCA model DCM325.

    I am also using wireless G on the desktop, through a Linksys WRK54G router.

    I read the "Solving slow BitTorrent download speeds" guide here, so now my questions are follows:

    1. Does having a cable modem require any additional steps to configure?

    2. Does using wireless affect my ability to port forward my router?

    And if someone can give me a brief breakdown of what I need to do, it'll be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance for replies.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  2. File Sharing   -   #2
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Also, how do I know if my connection is shared using Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)?
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  3. File Sharing   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You don't need to be using ICS when using a router. Each PC will automatically have a connection to the internet via the assigned DHCP IP (done by the router).

    Go into your router config page: http://192.168.1.1 default password is admin

    Click on Applications and Gaming tab. Insert an application name, Insert the start and end port range that you wish to forward, leave the protocol at both and be sure to use the correct IP of the computer using the app.

    To find your IP... Start>All Programs>Accessories>Command Prompt. Type ipconfig and press return. You should see your local IP.
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 07-02-2006 at 04:38 AM.

  4. File Sharing   -   #4
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    While you're in the router config pages, set your computer to always be assigned the same IP.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  5. File Sharing   -   #5
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    M'kay, correctly forwarded my router to port 63333. The health icon in Azureus has finally gone green.

    But I still get crappy download speeds. I still get over 200kb/s for like 30 secs, and then the torrent speeds drop to 1-5 kb/s again, just like before with a NAT problem.

    What could be causing this?
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  6. File Sharing   -   #6
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Okay, Azureus now tells me that I am DHT firewalled. (There appears to be a problem with the Distributed Database's UDP port mapping (NAT/Firewall).

    What's this DHT firewall thing and how do I solve the problem?

    I have no firewalls installed, and even turned off windows firewall, with no anti-virus software whatsoever. In fact, my comp is running so simply and clean I only have 18 vital processes running.
    Last edited by Seedler; 07-02-2006 at 05:09 PM.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  7. File Sharing   -   #7
    It sounds like you haven't forwarded the required udp port.
    When you forwarded port 63333 did you forward both protocols (tcp and udp) or did you just forward tcp?
    But DHT probably won't affect your download speed much, try downloading a really popular and well seeded torrent and let it run for a bit to see if you actually have a problem or if its just the torrents you have been trying.

  8. File Sharing   -   #8
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by ilw
    It sounds like you haven't forwarded the required udp port.
    When you forwarded port 63333 did you forward both protocols (tcp and udp) or did you just forward tcp?
    But DHT probably won't affect your download speed much, try downloading a really popular and well seeded torrent and let it run for a bit to see if you actually have a problem or if its just the torrents you have been trying.
    I forwarded both. I saw that option and I specifically remember selecting both. But the problem persists, even when I use private trackers (Bitsoup, Torrentleech) I still have the problem of reaching over 200kb/s for 1 min, then having my download speed drop to 5kb/s again for 10 min. It's like I haven't solved my NAT problem at all.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  9. File Sharing   -   #9
    ^ () ^ BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Philly, PA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    292
    Did you open the ports in your firewall? I know I have to open all of the ports that I in ZoneAlarm after I forward them.
    Last edited by Nickthestick91; 07-02-2006 at 11:19 PM.

  10. File Sharing   -   #10
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickthestick91
    Did you open the ports in your firewall? I know I have to open all of the ports that I in ZoneAlarm after I forward them.
    Again, I don't use a firewall.

    I even turned off Windows firewall
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •