Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: TV aerial splitter.

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    im just in the middle of put a second feed into the bedroom from the aerial in the loft and the splitter im using has a earth connection on it.
    should i wire this into the house earth, or is it not worth the bother.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    3,357
    I think the copper screen is earthed, maybe you're meant to connect some of that to the earth connection.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    i think inside the splitter the screen is connected to the earth tab on the splitter, which you then connect to the earth so any unwated signals picked up in the screening are earthed. giving better performance,
    i was just wondering wether its worth the bother of wiring it into the house earth.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    If the outer shield is already grounded then it's not nessasary.

    Check at where the cable enters your home to see if it's really grounded.

    If you're unsure then do ground the splitter. To be grounded at many places doesn't harm anything.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    the cable is from my aerial which is in the loft, which then goes into the splitter. and from there one lead goes into the bedroom and the other goes into the livingroom so it isnt earthed at all really, apart from via the freeview boxes. (terrestrial digital TV)

    edit: the splitter is like this
    Last edited by Livy; 07-15-2006 at 09:29 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Link doesn't work.

    It's better to ground it. Can you connect it to a cold water supply pipe?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    works here. ???

    the lighting circuit is up the loft anyway so i can connect into the earth there.
    and i beleive the cold water feed is up there to supplying the cold water storage tank,
    Last edited by Livy; 07-15-2006 at 11:19 PM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Ah you fixed the link.

    Cold water storage tank? What's that for?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    Cold water storage tank? What's that for?
    Many older houses in the UK have a hot water storage tank which is gravity fed from a cold water tank. Bathroom cold water is sometimes fed from this tank too. The idea is to give constant water pressure (in case mains pressure is low for some reason), while at the same time preventing back-syphoning into the mains cold water system. Alternatively, older central heating systems also needed a constant head, so it could be for that.

    @Livy, I've never had reason ground a splitter, but if it is easily facilitated I see no reason to avoid it.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    yeah, the cold water tank isnt very pretty inside either, but the taps are mains fed anyway. so its only there for the hot water and the power shower.

    i think ill just attach it to the pipe as its a little easier and closer.
    got some earth cable somewhere, just need a pipe strap.


    managed to get most it finished yesterday, just had to pull the cable up through the floor left to do today and fit the connectors.

    so now my toppy can be moved into the livingroom.

    http://www.toppy.org.uk
    Last edited by Livy; 07-16-2006 at 10:35 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •