Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Mboard supports s939 and am2?

  1. #1
    Tempestv's Avatar Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    699
    looking for a new motherboard for a friend and ran across this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157097

    the strange thing is it has this listed under ports:

    Other Slots: 1 x Future CPU Port
    (Supports CPU upgrade from AMD Socket 939 CPU to Socket AM2 CPU through AM2CPU Board)
    anyone ever heard of this? where do you put the DDR2 Ram?
    Plan for the worst, hope for the best

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    The AM2CPU plug-in board costs almost as much as a new motherboard.

    The new CPU and DDR2 memory both go on the plug-in board.

    I can't see the point myself.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Seedler's Avatar T__________________T
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,644
    Waste of money, unless price drops.
    Biostar XE T5
    i5-750 @ 4.0 GHZ stable (CM Hyper 212)
    2 x 2GB Cosair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHZ
    Radeon 5850 @ 866/1254MHZ
    Intel X25-M in RAID 0
    WD Caviar Black 2TB in RAID 0
    3 x Asus 25.5" VW266H LCD [Eyefinity]

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I'd stay far away from that board.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Formula1's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,786
    if you're looking for a budget board that'll let you OC, get a Biostar T-force..

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Tempestv's Avatar Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    699
    Whats wrong with the asrock board? whatever it is, it needs to be s939 and agp. pci-e would also be good so that he can upgrade his graphics with minimum trouble. any ideas?
    Plan for the worst, hope for the best

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Why agp?

    For a good budget board Look at this: https://filesharingtalk.com/vb3/showp...49&postcount=3

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Tempestv's Avatar Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    699
    becuase the graphics card he has now is an agp card. he burned up his board and possably his cpu and wants to get the bare minimum to get it working again. we convinced him to move up to s939 from socket A, but he doesn't want to replace anything else at this time.
    Plan for the worst, hope for the best

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Ok but what agp card does he have?

    The board I just mentioned has nVidia geforce 6150 graphics onboard which might be better than the card he has.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Tempestv's Avatar Engineer
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    699
    9800 pro
    I think it has a pretty healty overclock as well.
    Last edited by Tempestv; 09-10-2006 at 08:45 PM.
    Plan for the worst, hope for the best

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •