Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: NEW seagate HDD not recognized?

  1. #1
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    I got my new seagate drive from seagate after my other one broke. I put this one in, I took off the pin item that was set to master, I plugged in the IDE cord, and the powercord. Now when I started the computer I went into the BIOS, and set the Primary Slave to ST311600 etc. The model # is something like that. I went to device manager and it's under HDD's. But in 'My Computer', it only shows 'C:'. How can this be? I've installed many HDD's before but have never seen this.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    suprafreak6's Avatar Suprafreak6 is Back!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    -=U.S.A=-
    Posts
    2,450
    try actualling using the jumpers? by pins i assume you went the jumpers,,,

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    yea the jumpers, I took them off.

    http://www.seagate.com/support/disc/...ies6family.gif

    should they be at 'cable'select'?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Go into Disk Management.

    Right click 'My Computer'>select Manage>Disk Management.

    The drive should show there and you need to create at least one partition on it.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Skiz's Avatar (_8(I)
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CO
    Age
    40
    Posts
    29,628
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234 View Post
    Go into Disk Management.

    Right click 'My Computer'>select Manage>Disk Management.

    The drive should show there and you need to create at least one partition on it.
    Yep.

    I think that's the exact same thing you told me about 6 months ago. Worked perfectly.



    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
    The FST Last.fm group

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    thanks vb1234 and skizo


    ITs 160gb, so should I format it to 160gb? Or have 2 partitions, like 100 and 60?
    Last edited by maebach; 09-13-2006 at 01:15 AM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by maebach View Post
    thanks vb1234 and skizo


    ITs 160gb, so should I format it to 160gb? Or have 2 partitions, like 100 and 60?
    That's completely your choice based on your needs.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    suprafreak6's Avatar Suprafreak6 is Back!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    -=U.S.A=-
    Posts
    2,450
    too bad i wasnt right.....

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    711's Avatar Custom Titles? Wow.
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    18
    I wish hd manufacturers would include some sort of card explaining all this, I see this question asked at the very least once a week...
    Who the hell plasma cuts their own case and uses ultrasonic polishing baths on their evaporators?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    maebach's Avatar Team FST Captain
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    burlington, Ontario
    Posts
    5,341
    Quote Originally Posted by Global Jihad View Post
    too bad i wasnt right.....

    yea, you would've got the super sweet prize!






    so anyways, Im going with the 100gb and 60gb. Keep media on the 60 and other stuff on the 100. I guess partitioing will make it faster and more organized.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •