Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: CD drive no longer works with xp

  1. #1
    hey,


    I recently installed windows xp sp1 (id get sp2 if i didnt have dial up) on my brothers old barebone kit,

    but now it doesnt work,


    it shows up in my computer and under device manager it says E-ide cd rom drive 50x max,


    but when a cd is inserted,

    the little wait hourglass appears and it seems to boot,
    but it doesnt,
    and when you click on it in my computer it says please insert a disk in drive e, although there is a working disk.



    help appreciated,

    Tanner.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Yoga's Avatar \ ( ^ 0 ^ ) / BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    In my yellow submarine
    Posts
    426
    hmmm - now it doesn't work, did it work before?
    Last edited by Yoga; 10-04-2006 at 09:10 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    How did you install XP if the drive isn't working?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    david02's Avatar only human BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oss
    Age
    43
    Posts
    428
    the cd could not be good ennough for the cdrom player . try another one.. Maybe this is insulting but I do not know anything else to advice

    hmmm , wait I came up with something ...try it in DOS using a bootdisk with cdrom support and try if you can access a cdrom that way. (windows 9x bootdisk is fine too) It is not a solution for your problem yet but then you know the cdrom drive is ok and it is something in windows that is wrong

    www.bootdisk.com has images for startup diskettes

    if you are not familiar with dos please me know

    btw if
    Last edited by david02; 10-06-2006 at 04:57 AM.
    ''God is dead.'' - Nietche
    ''Nietche is dead!'' -God

    graffiti

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    manofstyle's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +14BT Rep +14BT Rep +14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    303
    Can't tell if this would help you withour more info, but you could try a firmware update to the CD drive.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    ok,
    i tried the gateway os disk that i installed windows xp with and restarted and it didnt boot!
    i was suprised to be honest,
    i mean it worked obviously cuz thats how i installed windows xp!!

    weird.

    ill be able to get the model name later, (i look in belarc and it just says "E-IDE CD ROM DRIVE 50X MAX") but ill get the model name off the drive later.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    okay i have another problem,

    i have an oldie gateway e-4200
    ((p3, 600mhz, 384mb ram, 12gb hd, winxpsp1)
    and it was hit by lightning,
    a new power supply and a modem later its back.

    but with the modem,

    i first but in a creative modem blaster but cuz of lack of drivers i put in a gateway modem that came with another gateway computer,

    and it detected the new hardware and got the drivers (("Gateway Data Fax Modem")
    and when i start aol it prompts me to update my connection (hensing it detected a change), and it doesnt dial.....or make any sounds at all.

    as you can see,
    i have a lot of problems.....................................






    and my computers do too.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    This one's easy.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tanner31593 View Post
    when i start aol
    There's the problem.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    so if i reinstalled aol would that help?

    ill try it.


    ok new dilemma;

    when i bought a gateway computer new in 2000,
    it came with the works suite disks (8 total), and the system restore disks, and all that stuff,
    it was all stored in a little gateway cd holder, just like the zipper kind,

    and when i tried to install word 2000, it asked for a key,
    well theres no sticker that has a key on it..............

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Can't help with that one.

    However, I believe some systems came with the keys already installed. If you re-installed XP (or W2K) without using the system restore disks you would lose that info.

    This is one of the reasons why I would NEVER buy a system that use system restore disks.

    Anyway, just dump the Works disks and download OpenOffice.org, it's far superior and it's free.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •