Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: setting a home network

  1. #1
    i have no idea what i need and what i need to do.i want to connect to the internet with a pc that i have in my room withthe connection from the pc in my living room.how do i go about doing this?

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    david02's Avatar only human BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oss
    Age
    43
    Posts
    428
    which operating systems? Do you allready have a working network?

    If everything works you can set it up in a breeze normally.
    ''God is dead.'' - Nietche
    ''Nietche is dead!'' -God

    graffiti

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Whta kind of connection is it (dsl/cable or dial up?).
    Is the modem external or inside the computer, and how is it hooked up if it's external (ethernet or usb?).

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    manofstyle's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +14BT Rep +14BT Rep +14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    303
    Of course you will need to answer the above questions first, but the most common solution will be to get a router, either wireless or wired. Wired is more secure and faster, but wireless gives you more freedom, especially with a laptop.

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    i have windows xp and i have optimum online cable internet.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by johnq86 View Post
    i have windows xp and i have optimum online cable internet.
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco
    Is the modem external or inside the computer, and how is it hooked up if it's external (ethernet or usb?).

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    its an external modem and it is an ethernet connection

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    ok good with that setup you can use any option wihtout having to buy a new modem.

    The best option is to buy a router (wired or wireless).
    Your modem plugs into the router and if you buy a wired router each computer will need an ethernet wire from it to the router as well.
    Then just follow the instructions that come with the router to set it up.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    what would u suggest as an affordable and descent router?

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    manofstyle's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +14BT Rep +14BT Rep +14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    303
    I have used Netgear, Linksys, and D-Link routers, all of which have been great. Personally I like my D-Link Gaming router because it has gigabit ethernet connections that make transferring files between PC's much faster, but it was not exactly cheap.

    The best bang for your buck would probably be a Linksys router. Look on newegg.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •