Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Video extionsion cables

  1. #1
    I wonder if you have more information on this issue:

    I want to connect my camcorder to a TV monitor. I have 2 problems:

    1 - my TV monitor only has the aerial socket. So I been told that I need to get a RF modulator to connect the camcorder to a TV.

    2 - My camcorder is sitting on the ground floor and I want to connect to the TV monitor on the 2nd floor. So I need a long extension cable that connects my camcorder to a RF modulator.

    Would you have any more infromation on what type of RF modulator and extension cable I need?

    Thanks

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    http://www.astarsolutions.co.uk/prod...1127&r=froogle

    and just buy enough co-ax to do the job.

    think that's what you need.

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    An RF modulator generates a signal your TV tuner can receive.

    Here in the US all VCRs have them built in. You tune your TV to channel 3 or 4 (a switch on back or in the onscreen menu lets you change this) to receive the modulated signal.

    Now days you can buy this modulator by itself as Gripper has pointed out.

    Since the one he linked to has a scart connector I'm assuming you're in a country outside the US.

    But no matter, the principle is the same.

    You can run coax cable up to 50 feet (approx. 164 meters) or more with no signal loss.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by harrycary View Post

    You can run coax cable up to 50 feet (approx. 164 meters) or more with no signal loss.
    Your conversion figures don't work out right.

    50 feet = 15.24 meters
    or
    164 meters = 538.05 feet

    Which is it?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by harrycary View Post

    You can run coax cable up to 50 feet (approx. 164 meters) or more with no signal loss.
    Your conversion figures don't work out right.

    50 feet = 15.24 meters
    or
    164 meters = 538.05 feet

    Which is it?
    50 x 3.28 = 164 - wrong
    50 / 3.28 = 15.24 - correct

    Since he has got the conversion the wrong way round he must have started with 50 feet.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    decimal point in the wrong place when multiplying.

    thanks for the correction.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    which is it 500ft or 50ft?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •