Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Firefox wont connect to internet

  1. #1
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961

    Question Mark

    ok for some reason firefox is not connecting to internet
    the internet is working fine and when i open internet explorer
    everything seems to be working fine...

    so wats prb with firefox???????? and ya its the latest version
    running winxp pro

    plz help
    ty

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lysine's Avatar 49311 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    unknown
    Posts
    639
    Tools > Options > Advanced > Network Tab > Connection > Settings

    make sure Direct Connection To The Internet is selected.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by lysine View Post
    Tools > Options > Advanced > Network Tab > Connection > Settings

    make sure Direct Connection To The Internet is selected.
    ya the option is already selected....

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lysine's Avatar 49311 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    unknown
    Posts
    639
    what error does firefox give you, when you try to load a page? did it suddenly stop working? has it worked before in the past? or did you just install it?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    sameer0807's Avatar I aIn'T nO sErIoUs
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    - = C.a.N.a.D.A = -
    Age
    30
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by lysine View Post
    what error does firefox give you, when you try to load a page? did it suddenly stop working? has it worked before in the past? or did you just install it?
    it gives me error: Firefox cant find the server
    and it just started to happen from today
    before that it was working fine
    i dunnno wat got into it.....

    "I'll be here... I'll be 'waiting'...here... I'll be waiting... for you ... so... If you come here... You'll find me. I promise..."

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lysine's Avatar 49311 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    unknown
    Posts
    639
    that's very odd, since you checked the proxy settings and they were ok.

    might try making a post here:
    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewforum.php?f=38

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    Make sure that if you've got a firewall running that it is allowing firefox access to the internet.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    I had the same problem and what I found was that when I changed my start page from the default setting, it would not connect.
    Somehow, it screws up how Firefox checks itself and its connection on start-up and will give you those errors.

    If you have changed your start page (the first page that you see when you open Firefox) Go to Tools>Options>Home Page>Restore To Default

    See if that helps at all, and if not, you can always try backing up your bookmarks and extensions and re-installing Firefox.

    Is IE able to connect to the internet?

    Also, if you are still unable to remedy your problem, you always have the option of installing Opera...

    Opera is a solid, reliable and safe browser and it smokes both IE and Firefox in speed tests.

    Take Care,
    Hessian

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •