Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Zone Alarm Pro Vs Sygate P. Firewall Pro

  1. #1
    racer II's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    36
    Posts
    493
    Which one is better?
    Zone alarm pro or sygate personal firewall pro.
    And why?

    I`m allready using zone alarm pro but it has some problems when i am running Emule.
    System:
    LANPARTY UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
    Xfx 7900gt extreme
    2x Maxtor 250gb sata
    2x Maxtor 80gb (p)ata
    2x 512mb mem , dual channel
    Tagan 580w psu
    Coolermaster stacker case
    Zalman reserator 1

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    I use Norton Personal firewall and IMO its very good
    There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    932
    norton 2003 is best i reckon, ive tried them all (mcafee,norton,zone alarm pro etc) and id say norton 2003 is best

    fuck Derby County

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    scribblec's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    england
    Posts
    3,326
    i use zne and sygate
    which ever i feel on the day

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Forum Star
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,407
    Does Norton use a MD5 check on files and dll's that are used by programs that want to connect to the internet? If not, then SyGate is superior.

    I have never liked ZoneAlarm.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Rip The Jacker's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6,435
    Sygate is free, smaller, easier to use (IMO).

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Southern California USA
    Posts
    571
    Originally posted by Paul@14 May 2003 - 20:33
    Does Norton use a MD5 check on files and dll's that are used by programs that want to connect to the internet? If not, then SyGate is superior.

    I have never liked ZoneAlarm.
    How come?
    Pain in the ass popup alerts?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Lubbock, TX
    Posts
    246
    i just dl'd ZA pro and installed great and in a matter of 2 hours online blocked 5 attempts from outside traffic and 4 of those were pretty high risk. i would recommend it.
    PLEASE help me get my Free IPOD! my brother got his 4 days ago and i need help with referrals. the screensavers just aired a story and it works. Just use my referral link and i suggest the 2 week blockbuster trial. you won't owe anything! http://www.freeiPods.com/default.aspx?referer=10154369

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Forum Star
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,407
    Originally posted by ripley02@15 May 2003 - 16:23
    i just dl'd ZA pro and installed great and in a matter of 2 hours online blocked 5 attempts from outside traffic and 4 of those were pretty high risk. i would recommend it.
    Just because ZoneAlarm says that it blocked a 'high risk' connection attempt doesn't make it a good firewall

    Not that I am saying that it is a bad firewall.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,053
    Originally posted by ripley02@15 May 2003 - 15:23
    i just dl'd ZA pro and installed great and in a matter of 2 hours online blocked 5 attempts from outside traffic and 4 of those were pretty high risk. i would recommend it.
    same here install z/a last night except
    1782 blocked intrusion
    647 high risk

    can any tell me if thats normal plz?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •