Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Clocker or other expert

  1. #1
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    My nephews comp went bad after a power cut fucked it up,I have installed a new m/board but when I try to install the o/s it starts going wrong at about 80%,I have tried various copies I have and they all do the same.
    I reformatted the disc that didn't work.
    Would you say the drive is fucked,before he lays out more money?
    Its all I can think of
    I also swopped his cd drive for one I know works,and tried swopping the graphics card to.

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    What kind of drive is it?
    Have you run the manufacturer's diags on it?

    Replace the PSU, too.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    Its a 40gb maxtor,i'm running a diagnostic on it now.
    I replaced the psu,would that stop the o/s from loading at more or less the same place everytime?

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Can you provide system specs please?

    Can you describe "starts going wrong at about 80%" in more detail? What really happens at about 80%?

    Disconnect every component that isn't required for the installation and try installing it like that. (for example: sound cards, network cards, extra drives etc.)

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    New asrock k7vt4a pro m/board
    2*512mb memsticks
    geoforce 5200graphics card
    athlon 2000xp processor
    second hand 300w psu

    What happens at 805 is it starts saying can not load xxxxxx.dll press enter to retry,so I have to sit there keep pressing enter,most times it eventually bsod or refuses to read any thing else at 99%

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Could you run memetest and see what that says?

    http://www.memtest86.com/

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Try it with only 1 memstick and then the other.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Gripper's Avatar Dexter's Apprentice.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Mansfield, Nottinghamshir
    Age
    53
    Posts
    11,008
    ok I'll try.i'm running a diagnostic at the mo,took an hour so far and its only half way through.

    All spelling mistakes and grammatical errors in my post's are intentional.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    which xxxxx.dll (s) can it not load?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I also suspect your CD or CD drive. Try yet another drive or different media.

    Edit: or even the IDE cable.
    Last edited by Virtualbody1234; 12-12-2006 at 07:20 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •