Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Serials vs. Activation Serials

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    More of the high profile softwares are switching to "activation"

    Adobe's line of products, Microsoft OS's, etc.

    So what's the difference between a standard serial and an activation serial?


    My best guess is a serial is a one time answer.

    Enter the serial once, for any machine, and if correct, you sucessfully registered the product

    For activation, first enter a serial. Next it creates a dynamic "activation" serial using an algorithm based on the serial you entered before and some sort of hardware ID.


    Am I close with that one?
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Activation is usually done online where the software communicates with a remote device which verifies if it's legitimate and then sends code back that activates the product.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    But how does it work when you do the "activate by phone" option? The program must internally know if the final activation serial is correct, right?
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Sometimes if you find a program you like and activate it ,its best to block it from assessing the net . It will phone home ,check for pirated serial # and may even disable itself .

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    speaking of activations. NIS 2005 occasionally needs me to reactivate. I don't know why, though. I searched the forum looking for this topic, but couldn't find anything...probably b/c it's so old and there are newer versions.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •