Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Does Temperature affect the Lan cable?

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    My modem is on the other floor, and the cable (i think its called Lan) from it goes outside around the building into the other floor into my computer.

    It is now minus 10 degrees.
    I have noticed some erradic behaviour since the temperature drop.

    Does temperature affect it? or is it something else?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    I didn't think it made much difference, but maybe there could be a microscopic break in the cable somewhere, that is made worse in the cold weather because the metal contracts

    If anything, the connection should be better in cold weather maybe, less resistance and all that

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Barbie's suggestion of a break in the cable is a possibility, but I think that would cause problems at any time. More likely any problem is upstream from the modem.

    Quote Originally Posted by Barbarossa View Post
    If anything, the connection should be better in cold weather maybe, less resistance and all that
    Superconductivity ftw

    Maybe the data is getting there before it has left, that's sure to cause synchronisation problems.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    run this to check if ur getting a good connection or not.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    The speed test showed the correct speed.
    Thanks for the advice.
    Will be getting wireless soon anyhow.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Quote Originally Posted by mr. nails View Post
    run this to check if ur getting a good connection or not.
    I ran this test twice. I have dialup 56k.

    Last Result:
    Download Speed: 41 kbps (5.1 KB/sec transfer rate) both times
    Upload Speed: 225 kbps (28.1 KB/sec transfer rate) & 26.5 KB

    How is that Upload Speed possible?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    DISABLED PRIVS BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    166
    TEMPERATURE in my place is damn hot i mean moi laptop is heating up like its on fire.....man they should have a cooling system or something....

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED BT Rep: +8BT Rep +8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    605
    who cares lol?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    I do

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    How is that Upload Speed possible?
    Refer to post 3.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •