Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Housemate deleted wordpad????

  1. #1
    Ok I knew I shouldnt have been nice, but a souple of days ago my housemate asked if they could use my pc for some online research. Somehow they managed to delete wordpad from my system whilst removing a piece of software they downloaded for their research. I've just re-adding windows components to fix it, but with no luck. I can open microsoft office word, and type etc. But if I try to open an rtf file it just crashes word. I also dont get a normal wordpad folder, start button or anything. Anyone got any advice how I can fix this?


    AppName: winword.exe AppVer: 10.0.2627.0 ModName: winword.exe
    ModVer: 10.0.2627.0 Offset: 008248f2
    Thats the error signature I get when I try to open word
    Last edited by feygan; 01-29-2007 at 12:53 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Click help then Detect and Repair option from within Word may fix it . Or go to Control panel / add remove / change program to reinstall .

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    he's talking about WordPad, which comes with windows. What OS are you using?

    Do you have a windows CD? You can do a windows repair with that. It sounds like you have spyware or a virus running loose on your computer. You need to address everything. Do you have AV software? Also run lavasoft's adaware and spybot S&D.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4

    Dry

    I tried the add remove and reinstalling, and each time I stick in my xp disc to re-add wordpad it tell s me that my sp2 is newer than the disc so it wont reinstall wordpad. Just tried the detect and repair and no ironic suprise being microsoft. To run detect and repair from word I have to have the following programs closed. "Microsoft Word" (go figure)

    I'm on windows xp home sp2, with ad aware/norton av 2007 both uptodate and clean of everything at last scan this morning.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    This is very unclear and confusing.

    It's either Word or Wordpad. It can't be both.

    You seem to be using the 2 terms interchangeably in your posts.

    If it's Wordpad then you shouldn't mention Word.


    Is the Wordpad program still there in: "C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Accessories\wordpad.exe"

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234 View Post
    This is very unclear and confusing.

    It's either Word or Wordpad. It can't be both.

    You seem to be using the 2 terms interchangeably in your posts.

    If it's Wordpad then you shouldn't mention Word.


    Is the Wordpad program still there in: "C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Accessories\wordpad.exe"
    confusing is right!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    No the wordpad.exe isnt there, hense I cant start it whatsoever. Also I cannot now open word. It just gives the error message I posted above.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Have you tried SFC , you can extract a copy from your CD by running the SFC tool . Thats if it's really not there or try System Restore ?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    backlash's Avatar usenet lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    in your dreams
    Posts
    2,167
    peat's referring to
    sfc /scannow command

    Start > Run > type sfc /scannow hit enter

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    wordpad is called "wordpad.exe"
    whereas old word is called winword.exe
    what you are looking for is fixing word

    in the meantime, here is "wordpad" (see attachment)put in C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Accessories

    i suggest reinstalling word
    Attached Files Attached Files

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •