Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Desktop Icons keep rearranging themselves

  1. #1
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    I ran various "Ace Utilities" features such as the reg cleaner and some other stuff that may of which caused this to happen, I've restored the reg backup and still no avail. I've tried many things such as programs and LAYOUT.DLL files that are supposed to keep the icons in order and sure enough they've done jack squat... I've also made sure that its not on "auto arrange" or by name,size,type, modified , ect. Nothing seems to be working here.....

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    have you tried "Align to grid" that's what mine is on.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by 100% View Post
    have you tried "Align to grid" that's what mine is on.
    yes that's what it's on along with show desktop icons. Fuck these bastard registry cleaners...!!!
    Last edited by S!X; 02-27-2007 at 10:53 AM.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    look in your registry
    and see if you have this line in it
    if so delete it

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
    "NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by 100% View Post
    look in your registry
    and see if you have this line in it
    if so delete it

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer]
    "NoSaveSettings"=dword:00000000
    K I deleted it, didn't do anything though.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    did you reboot?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by 100% View Post
    did you reboot?
    yes

    also my quick launch icons dissapear along with the desktop icons being all farked up
    Last edited by S!X; 02-27-2007 at 11:10 AM.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    set everything as you want and reboot
    it should be good now.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Quote Originally Posted by 100% View Post
    set everything as you want and reboot
    it should be good now.
    It's still screwed...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    I am out of answers

    except

    bjs
    03-02-2004, 12:10 PM

    Hi!

    I got a little problem with my Windows-XP installation.

    Everytime when i apply a Iconpackager-Theme or change manually the Desktop Icons (My Computer, Trash, My Documents) and restart the PC, the Icons are back to standard.

    Does anybody know, how to fix this problem?

    Thanks in advance,

    Björn

    SheepShaver
    03-02-2004, 12:53 PM

    I had the same problem. If you have an nVidia card and the newest Detonator driver installed there is a simple solution: deactivate the nVidia display driver service in the services control panel.
    Why doesn't nVidia focus on writing a driver for their hardware instead of writing stuff that messes with your system?

    DeanoBear63
    03-02-2004, 01:27 PM

    But what actually happens when you disable the nvidia display driver service? I have a custom resolution... will the machine boot?... will it start up in 800x600 mode instead of my custom resolution? A little more info would be helpful

    SheepShaver
    03-02-2004, 01:42 PM

    I didn't notice any adverse effect whatsoever. I don't really know what this services' exact purpose is - it sits there and eats ram. If I'm not mistaken it's got something to do with the "force refresh rate" feature. But I don't use it, so I'm not sure.

    bjs
    03-02-2004, 04:01 PM

    Thank you, sheepshaver. I would never expect this service being the cause of this misbehaviour.

    BTW: Tuneup Utilities 2003 Rock! They include Theme Changer and LogonGUI-Changer and so on!

    Greetings,
    Björn

    vBulletin® v3.6.4, Copyright ©2000-2007, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •