Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Routers and Internet Drops

  1. #1
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    i recently bought a router and it works great, but it seems as though it's dropping my internet. i'll cum home from work and utorrent isn't dl'ing and i can't connect to the next. a reboot won't fix this either. i have to reboot the router. not reset it mind u, just reboot it. wtf? shitty router? routers do this? i don't have this problem when the router isn't connected. my router is this.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    It probably just crashed. Happens alot with these cheap routers when you are making alot of connections for some odd reason. see if there is any firmware updates for it.

    here

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play View Post
    see if there is any firmware updates for it.
    that's the first thing i did @ set-up. meh. pretty gay. i'll prob take the junk back. i need my computer runnning. u said cheap router... what's a non-cheap router? i'm not just asking for u to give me a rec on a $500 router either. i need a router that can take what i throw at it. i guess $50 just didn't cut it. recs? thx for input.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Strange. I have that router and don't have that issue with mine.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234 View Post
    Strange. I have that router and don't have that issue with mine.
    yeah, so i have today off and i will probably just take back this router. maybe try a new one? this one mite be defective? u stated that u don't have this issue. what kind of bandwidth usage are u going thru? me? 4+GB daily.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Member BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    36
    Posts
    28
    This is a known problem with the Linksys routers. They track all connections for way too long and torrenting will kill them. There are 3rd party firmawares out there for the 'cheap' routers that make them much better. Check out http://www.dd-wrt.com/ for more info.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by FooBag View Post
    This is a known problem with the Linksys routers. They track all connections for way too long and torrenting will kill them. There are 3rd party firmawares out there for the 'cheap' routers that make them much better. Check out http://www.dd-wrt.com/ for more info.
    i've did that. bad thing is i have the v6 model and it's crippled. therefore won't be able to use those sweet 3rd party firmwares. i only have 2mb of cache instead of the old 4mb.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    done. refund. it got to the point where my latency was over 1000 in WoW. unacceptable. net gear any good?
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Morgoth's Avatar The Great Enemy BT Rep: +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40BT Rep +40
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Middle-Earth
    Age
    45
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by FooBag View Post
    This is a known problem with the Linksys routers. They track all connections for way too long and torrenting will kill them. There are 3rd party firmawares out there for the 'cheap' routers that make them much better. Check out http://www.dd-wrt.com/ for more info.
    I have same problem and my router isn't Linksys, mine is 3Com. I know many ppl have same problem with other brands also. For me upgrading firmware didn't help me.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    DISABLED PRIVS BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    41
    u can update yr router firmware from the official router site

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •