Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Screencard Trouble

  1. #1
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Got me puzzled with this problem here.
    I have 3 PC'c, one for movies, one for making music and playing games and
    this one that i use for the net, sharing etc.
    Swapped screencards from my Net comp to Gaming comp,
    now i have Nvidia Gforce 4200 in the game comp and that is working just fine, np there.
    But, this PC that i use for the net has an Ati 16Mb card now, and my OS WinXP wont install drivers for
    it cuz it thinks it is the Nvidia4200 card. It is giving me grey hair, i dunno what to do.
    I have uninstalled all the drivers for graphic gard, Nvidia and Ati, then installed only Ati drivers, but
    each time when the Wizard finds new hardware, it thinks its the Nvidia. I've been trying several times to point it where the Ati drivers are but it says that location does not have the files matching my hardware, it wants the Nvidia Drivers.
    I havent tried the Nvidia drivers for Ati as I think it will create more trouble.

    So, im forced to use Software instead of Hardware for my graphics and i can tell, it really sucks.
    Any cool tips of what to do in this situation will be highly appreciated.

    Cheers:
    -GS-
    Spoiler: Show

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Damn double post, Mods could delete the other one.

    This is what i get when my puter isnt working too well...

    -GS-
    Spoiler: Show

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    CornerPocket's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    aTx, USA
    Posts
    1,586
    See if this helps:
    1. Use Nasty File Remover(NFR) to remove any remaining Nvidia files associated to the Ti4200 card.
    2. Go into Device Manager, remove the Nvidia Ti4200 card from Display Adapters
    3. Reboot
    "8-ball Corner Pocket"

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,198
    So... you had the 4200 installed on that system before right? There must be leftover parts of the driver.

    Try this: http://content.guru3d.com/index.php?page=d...natorrip&menu=0

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799


    Yep, that did the work, uninstalled the rest of those NVidia files, cleaned up registry etc, funny they dont make that as a default action when you un-install drivers, but anyhow, now i got the right drivers running and i can use bigger resolutions etc.

    Thank you so very much !

    Cheers:
    Guitar-Slinger
    Spoiler: Show

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    CornerPocket's Avatar Retired
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    aTx, USA
    Posts
    1,586
    Excellent!
    ....and I agree, you would think a complete uninstall of all driver related files would be removed. Maybe Nvidia will develop that sometime in the future. B)
    "8-ball Corner Pocket"

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Another prog is detonator deleter just uninstall the old driver and run it before restarting,, Nice and sweet like

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •