Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Notebook mem upgrade

  1. #1
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    I've currently got 512MB in two 256MB sticks, PC2700 SDRAM clocking a lousy 166MHz.

    I'd like to go to 1GB at least, but I don't know how flexible the other specs are as to clock speed, etc.

    Where can I go with this stuff?

    It's an Athlon 64 3200; HP Pavilion zv6130.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Mindfukced's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    39
    hi,

    you can run the scans from these websites.

    http://www.crucial.com/
    http://www.kingston.com/

    I use these to find out what I can put in, usually.

    found this from Kingston:
    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...submit1=Search

    Looks like 2Gb is the max is will take, DDR333 Module
    Hope that helps.

    Mindfukced

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Mindfukced View Post
    hi,

    you can run the scans from these websites.

    http://www.crucial.com/
    http://www.kingston.com/

    I use these to find out what I can put in, usually.

    found this from Kingston:
    http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/conf...submit1=Search

    Looks like 2Gb is the max is will take, DDR333 Module
    Hope that helps.

    Mindfukced
    Way cool.

    Thanks...
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    A point to remember.

    If you want the memory to run in dual-channel mode (maximum performance) then you need 2 identical sticks. Since there are only 2 slots that means replacing both sticks.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx View Post
    A point to remember.

    If you want the memory to run in dual-channel mode (maximum performance) then you need 2 identical sticks. Since there are only 2 slots that means replacing both sticks.
    Yup.

    Probably go with something middle-of-the-road, quality-wise, 2X512 (unless you have a good reason for me to spend bigger money); I don't think this rig warrants 2GB, even if I end up running Vista at some juncture.

    Thanks for the reminder.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    If you stay with xp 2 x 512 is ok. If you go to vista you'll regret not going 2 x 1gb.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    If you stay with xp 2 x 512 is ok. If you go to vista you'll regret not going 2 x 1gb.
    I think I could load Vista on it to find out if I liked it (no resource-intensive progs), but, as many have said, I think a true "Vista machine" would warrant a scratch-built unit; my laptop is the newer of my two PCs, and it's two years old.

    I think XP is good enough to get me down the road 'til I'm satisfied Vista's been sorted properly.

    While I don't believe for a minute Gates actually thinks Vista is good for a ten-year-run, I'll give it a pass for now.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by j2k4 View Post
    I think a true "Vista machine" would warrant a scratch-built unit; my laptop is the newer of my two PCs, and it's two years old.

    I think XP is good enough to get me down the road 'til I'm satisfied Vista's been sorted properly.
    Also, at this early date I'd avoid Vista on a PC you really needed to work on.
    Software support might be dicey and you don't need the aggro.
    Get a standalone machine (with the proper, i.e., total overkill, hardware specs) that won't kill you if it's not fully functional and play with that one till you're confident all is good.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by j2k4 View Post
    I think a true "Vista machine" would warrant a scratch-built unit; my laptop is the newer of my two PCs, and it's two years old.

    I think XP is good enough to get me down the road 'til I'm satisfied Vista's been sorted properly.
    Also, at this early date I'd avoid Vista on a PC you really needed to work on.
    Software support might be dicey and you don't need the aggro.
    Get a standalone machine (with the proper, i.e., total overkill, hardware specs) that won't kill you if it's not fully functional and play with that one till you're confident all is good.
    Just so.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •