Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: vista-should i wait?

  1. #1
    walczanin's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    matryca
    Posts
    2,205
    Im considering upgrading my mce edition to one of the vista versions.
    So i'd like to ask wheter its a good time to do so, or shall i wait a bit more?
    I heard that some stuff still doesnt work well with vista (modems, graphic cards, etc)
    I would appreciate if u would podt your suggestions, and exoperiences with new vista
    cheers guys
    ps. hardware requirements dont concern me, since i got new pc few months ago, so lets focus on software.
    and 2 more questions:
    -when sp1 will be released?
    -is it possible to uprgade mce edition to vista 64bit? i mean i dont wannna format my hdd and begin from 0 again.....
    Last edited by walczanin; 03-12-2007 at 09:01 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Hairbautt's Avatar *haircut
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    20
    Posts
    11,028
    Quote Originally Posted by walczanin View Post
    when sp1 will be released?
    Posted in the News Section awhile back: Vista Service Pack 1 Set for 2H'07 Release - could easily change tho'
    Quote Originally Posted by walczanin
    I heard that some stuff still doesnt work well with vista (modems, graphic cards, etc)
    Don't forget software.

    IMO, I'd wait due to software incompatibilites/issues ranging from Games to just commonly used software I use like Quicken, PG2, iTunes, etc.

    You may want to look into WinXP to Vista guides - where you can theme and modify XP to look like Vista's new design. Or Longhorn design for that matter (Pre-Vista).
    _________________________________________________________________________________________
    Last edited by Alien5; Jun 6th, 2006 at
    06:36 PM..

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    i'm currently in dual boot and have vista as my primary OS and xp just basically for games. i've been using vista for over a month now and it's had boot up problems with diskeeper, video drivers, 1 bsod, and poor driver performance. all these are common for a new os. hardware isn't an issue u say? well, do u have @ least 2gb of ram? some ppl here would say 1gb is fine, but not me. down the road if u play games i'd recommend 4gb of ram. if ur mce is 32-bit and u wanna go 64-bit vista ur outta luck. not gonna happen. if ur 64 and wanna go 64 not a problem. in all honesty though. i'd just wait another year for vista sp1 to cum out. u'll be happier with it in the long run. imo.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    walczanin's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    matryca
    Posts
    2,205
    i have 2gb 667 dual ram + core2 6600.....
    i guess i wait then

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    i think you should wait.
    the only advantage for me is the DX10 which is not yet released -> no reason for downgrading yet

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Personally, I wouldn't install a brand new OS until it has been released to the masses for around 12-18 months, or more. Like has been mentioned, driver issues, software incompatabilities, general OS bugs/problems etc. all cause unneccessary headaches. Particularly if your current setup is working fine at the moment, I'd stay as is for a while.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    walczanin's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50BT Rep +50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    matryca
    Posts
    2,205
    i guess thats what im gonna do
    cgeers guys

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BawA's Avatar FST Pioneer BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Some Where but not here
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,541
    am using vista from some time now(almost 1 month), no problem so far, most of softwares like NOD32, FireFox, Logitech SetPoint, lime wire, KLCP, Alcohol 120%, Nero 7, CrapCleaner and Itunes work with it, games like BF 2142 and even 1942 works but with a slice difference from XP mostly because of graphic drivers being at beta stages.
    i have no problem with my drivers whats so ever, they are all compatible with vista(maybe because my system is recent and was mostly vista ready).
    Last edited by BawA; 03-13-2007 at 02:14 PM.


    "You can be mad as a mad dog at the way things went; you can swear and curse the fates, but when it comes to the end, you have to let go"
    Benjamen button

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Do you have a spare hard disk drive?

    You could disconnect your current HDD and connect the spare one. Install Vista to try it out all you want! As soon as you want your old setup back, just switch the drives back to the way it was.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BawA's Avatar FST Pioneer BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Some Where but not here
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,541
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234 View Post
    Do you have a spare hard disk drive?

    You could disconnect your current HDD and connect the spare one. Install Vista to try it out all you want! As soon as you want your old setup back, just switch the drives back to the way it was.
    no need to do that if u have spare partition. as you may know about Dual Boot option you can use it to test vista.
    i installed vista on my 14Gb partition as my secondary OS and kept my XP as primary, you can use VistaBoot Pro to configure the boot option to you're needing...
    then if u decide to keep Vista you can use partition magic to extend vista partition to higher capacity using XP since its not compatible with Vista as i heart.
    Last edited by BawA; 03-13-2007 at 04:02 PM.


    "You can be mad as a mad dog at the way things went; you can swear and curse the fates, but when it comes to the end, you have to let go"
    Benjamen button

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •