Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Wishing to set up a WLAN

  1. #1
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    I just bought a router and have it all set up so that both my laptop and desktop can use the computer. Now what I want to do is set up a WLAN so I can browse the contents of one another's hard drives, play LAN games, etc. I have been googling for days, but to no success. Every site just shows me how to set up a router, or shows me something that is no help at all. Ive tried using windows "set up a wireless network" and followed all the instructions, but no dice. My desktop is wired into the router and everything, and I am able to use the internet on the laptop I am using. What am I missing?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    make sure the 2 computers both have the same workgroup name set. MSHOME for both should work fine.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Check that your firewalls aren't blocking communications.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Could you maybe tell me what to do? I dont really know what I am doing anyways, just to see if I even did it right. And like I said before, google wasnt a very big help. I clicked "Set up a wireless network..." in My Network Places, and then tried adding my laptop to the home network via a flash drive, but it didnt work.. Do I need an access point? I only have a router...

    EDIT: Aha it is the firewall. I shut if off and now it works! I just have to configure kaspersky now... urgh. How would I go about doing that?
    Last edited by orcutt989; 04-01-2007 at 05:42 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    why would you have to configure your anti virus software ?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by 4play View Post
    why would you have to configure your anti virus software ?
    Because kaspersky makes firewalls too.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Hey, how do I make all my files on my desktop not private? I was fiddling with my user account earlier and didnt realize I would probably want to keep those public. How do I make all my files public again? And also I am not able to view files within a drive, only view what's on the root of the drive. What can I do about that?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED BT Rep: +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    161
    u can open any of ur computers by its ip
    open start run and type
    \\type the ip of the pc u want to open
    example
    \\192.168.1.100
    this is one way and there is another way
    send pm if u want to know

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Thanks for that suggestion, but I desire an actual network, as stated previously.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED BT Rep: +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19BT Rep +19
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    161
    ok u can setup like network card and all in the same group and it will work
    u use inferastructure in cards right??
    by the way my project in my faculty in wireless lan if u want any help just let me know

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •