Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ubuntu Desktop Installation

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I'm trying to install Ubuntu 6.10 Desktop edition x86 on my laptop (dell inspiration 5100).

    About 1/4 times I can make it to the Ubuntu desktop (on the live cd)

    The reason for this is that my dvd-rom on the laptop is horrible. Half the time it won't even detect that the Ubuntu cd is a live cd that it can boot from.


    My question is this. When you first put in the Ubuntu live cd, you reach a menu screen that says Install/Run Ubuntu and a couple other options.

    Is there a way to start the hard drive installation without first booting into the live desktop?
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    . BT Rep: +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22BT Rep +22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    .
    Posts
    146
    I'm not sure about a command to skip booting ... you should ask the experts over at http://www.ubuntu.com/community
    But in general, it would be wiser to fix that dvd-rom. What if you can start installing, but it always hangs up ? Apart from that you can start installing under Windows , if you have it running. Just put in the cd.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I haven't in fact tried too boot the ubuntu cd from windows, only from startup.

    I'm going to try booting it while already in windows xp by this weekend (lots of schoolwork to do right now).

    I'll post my results
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    maxrebo's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    110
    I dont think you can with the Desktop CD, however Ubuntu offers an "Alternate" CD from which you can install directly.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I'm grabbing the alternate cd right now
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    phantom's Avatar the shadow... BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    ... in the dark! :)
    Posts
    759
    but... hey, why did u not use Virtual PC or something like this... ??? Try this... i have a few OS in this situation... and work fine...

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    maxrebo's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by florinb View Post
    but... hey, why did u not use Virtual PC or something like this... ??? Try this... i have a few OS in this situation... and work fine...
    Sometimes you only want/need one OS. There is performance hit too, which can be especially noticable on a single core processor (which I think that laptop has).

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    phantom's Avatar the shadow... BT Rep: +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30BT Rep +30
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    ... in the dark! :)
    Posts
    759
    Quote Originally Posted by maxrebo View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by florinb View Post
    but... hey, why did u not use Virtual PC or something like this... ??? Try this... i have a few OS in this situation... and work fine...
    Sometimes you only want/need one OS. There is performance hit too, which can be especially noticable on a single core processor (which I think that laptop has).
    ... i tell u... i have one my laptop (single core preocessor) 3 OS runing one time... one is the XP who is the platform and 2 runing in VPC... and it's working very good...

    to be, or not to be... what do u choose?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    My aim is to install Linux MCE and run it as a server. I'm am just testing the setup on the laptop before I go out and buy all the hardware that it requires.

    But I do agree and I think I will try to install both Ubuntu and Linux MCE on VMware and check it out there. It's more trustworthy than that 850 MHZ laptop lol.
    Last edited by lightshow; 04-10-2007 at 03:20 AM. Reason: adding stuff
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    hope you have an nvidia card since ati pretty much suck for linux well and windows.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •